< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 South Africa vs Zimbabwe - Rain plays ‘spoilsport’ in African showdown

Rain plays ‘spoilsport’ in African showdown
Rain plays ‘spoil sport’ in African showdown

In a match reduced to 9 overs a-side, due to rain, Zimbabwe batted first and scrambled to 79/5, leaving South Africa a target of 80 to win. Unfortunately, the match was abandoned, after 3 overs of the reduced over run chase, with South Africa 51/0.

Match Summary

South Africa vs Zimbabwe, 18th Match, ICC Men's T20 World Cup

South Africa 51/0 (3 ov)

Zimbabwe 79/5 (9 ov)

Result - No Result


Top Tournament Stats -  ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

Top Batters - Runs Scored

Most Sixes

Top Bowlers - Wickets Taken

Points Table

Match Report

Zimbabwe batted first and scrambled to 79/5, off their 9 overs, mainly thanks to a feisty innings from Wesley Madhevere 35*.

In the run chase, rain played spoilsport and despite the umpires and ground staff doing everything to get a result, after another break, due to rain, South Africa’s target was reduced to 64 off 7 overs.

Quinton de Kock started the run chase with a bang, hitting 39 (13) off the first 2 overs and South Africa were 40/0. Unfortunately, Zimbabwe's Richard Ngarava then twisted an ankle and had to go off.

At this stage, Temba Bavuma had not faced a ball. With the rain still falling, it was difficult playing conditions for both sides. However, Quinton de Kock kept hitting and the rain kept falling.

After 3 overs, South Africa were 51/0……. The umpires then finally took the players off again… and play was abandoned with points being shared between the two sides.

Match Stats

Zimbabwe Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Craig Ervine - 1.6 ov), 2-12 (Regis Chakabva - 2.2 ov), 3-12 (Sikandar Raza - 2.4 ov), 4-19 (Sean Williams - 3.4 ov), 5-79 (Milton Shumba - 8.7 ov)

South Africa Fall of wickets:

Playing XIs

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (WK), Temba Bavuma (C), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan StubbsWayne Parnell, K, eshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi

Zimbabwe:  Regis Chakabva (WK), Craig Ervine (C), Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, Richard Ngarava, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani


Match Details:

Date: Monday, October 24, 2022 09:00

Venue: Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Toss: Zimbabwe won the toss & elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Ahsan Raza (Pakistan) Michael Gough (England) Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand TV)

Match Referee: David Boon (Australia)

© Cricket World 2022