< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Names Its Teams Of The Year

ICC Names Its Teams Of The Year
Mahendra Singh Dhoni is named in both teams and as captain of the ODI team
©REUTERS / Action Images

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Alastair Cook as captains of its One-Day International and Test teams of the year.

Dhoni makes the ODI team for the sixth year in a row while South African fast bowler Dale Steyn is in the Test team for the sixth year running.

Dhoni, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and James Anderson are named in both teams.

"I'd like to congratulate all those selected for the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the year," ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said.

"Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and are thoroughly deserving of the recognition they receive."

The Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Anil Kumble, added: "It is always tough to decide on the Test and ODI teams of the year, with so many worthy candidates to consider based on the players’ performances between 7 August 2012 and 25 August 2013.

"The selection panel had a lengthy debate on all the top performers during the performance period and a number of combinations were considered.

"The selectors did utilise a vast amount of statistics from the period under observation, but we also took into account other factors like the opposition, pitch conditions, match situation and the like. But when you have only 12 places to fill from a big group of world-class players, there will always be a few who will miss out.

"In the panel’s expert opinion, it has selected the best Test and ODI Teams based on performances over the past 12 months."

ICC Test Team Of The Year: Alastair Cook (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Hashim Amla, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, AB de Villiers, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Graeme Swann, Dale Steyn, James Anderson, Vernon Philander

ICC ODI Team Of The Year: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shikhar Dhawan, Hashim Amla, Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Saeed Ajmal, Mitchell Starc, James Anderson, Lasith Malinga

Ravichandran Ashwin (Test) and Mitchell McClenaghan (ODI) were named as 12th men.

© Cricket World 2013