< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Names ODI, Test Teams Of The Year

Angelo Mathews
Angelo Mathews has been named as the captain of the ICC Test Team Of The Year
©REUTERS / Action Images

The International Cricket Council has named Angelo Mathews and MS Dhoni as captains of its Test and One-Day International teams of the year.

Mathews captains a side that includes compatriots Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath.

For the seventh successive year, South African fast bowler Dale Steyn is included, this is the seventh time Sangakkara has been picked and the fifth time AB de Villies is in the line-up.

The ODI side is led by MS Dhoni for the fifth time and he is included for the seventh year in a row and eighth time in all.

The teams were selected by a panel chaired by Anil Kumble which also included Jonathan Agnew, Russell Arnold, Stephen Fleming and Betty Timmer.

ICC Test Team Of The Year: David Warner, Kane Williamson, Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, Joe Root, Angelo Mathews (captain), Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Broad, Dale Steyn, Rangana Herath, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor (12th man)

ICC ODI Team Of The Year: Mohammad Hafeez, Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli, George Bailey, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (captain, wicket-keeper), Dwayne Bravo, James Faulkner, Dale Steyn, Mohammad Shami, Ajantha Mendis, Rohit Sharma (12th man)

And the ICC has also revealed the shortlists for its annual ICC Awards ceremony, which will be held on 14th November.

ICC Cricketer Of The Year: AB de Villiers, Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara

ICC Test Cricketer Of The Year: Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara, David Warner

ICC ODI Cricketer Of The Year: Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Virat Kohli, Dale Steyn

ICC Women's Cricketer Of The Year: Charlotte Edwards, Mithali Raj, Sarah Taylor, Stafanie Taylor

ICC Emerging Cricketer Of The Year: Corey Anderson, Gary Ballance, Jimmy Neesham, Ben Stokes

ICC Associate & Affiliate Cricketer Of The Year: Calum MacLeod, Preston Mommsen, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari

ICC Twenty20 International Performance Of The Year: Alex Hales (116no v Sri Lanka), Aaron Finch (156 v England), Rangana Herath (3.3-2-3-5 v NZ),

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer Of The Year: Charlotte Edwards, Meg Lanning, Mithali Raj, Stafanie Taylor

© Cricket World 2014