< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Names WT20 Teams Of The Tournaments

Sri Lanka celebrate their ICC WT20 win
Sri Lanka won the tournament but just one of their players - Lasith Malinga - makes the ICC's XI
©REUTERS / Action Images

The ICC has named a Team Of The Tournament for both the ICC World Twenty20 and the ICC Women's Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

India's MS Dhoni has been named captain of the ICC WT20 team with Charlotte Edwards named as skipper of the women's team.

The men's team includes four players from India, two each from South Africa and the West Indies and one each from Australia, the Netherlands and Sri Lanka.

The women's team includes four players from England, two each from Australia and the West Indies and one each from Bangladesh, India and New Zealand.

Talking about the women's team, selection panel jury David Boon said: "This year’s tournament again demonstrated the incredible depth of talent across women’s cricket. 

"Selecting one team of 11 players was a tough task as we saw standout performances from many players.  

"The selection criteria are the performances of players in the conditions here in Bangladesh during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, so some of the world’s best players had to be left out.  

"The side reflects the effectiveness of bowlers throughout the tournament, with four specialist bowlers, including Bangladesh spinner Salma Khatun, as well as four all-rounders and three specialist batters who have performed consistently throughout the tournament."

ICC Women's World Twenty20 Team Of The Tournament: Suzie Bates (228 runs, five wickets), Charlotte Edwards (200 runs), Meg Lanning (257 runs), Sarah Taylor (150 runs, six dismissals), Stafanie Taylor (153 runs, one wicket), Deandra Dottin (147 runs, four wickets), Ellyse Perry (106 runs, eight wickets), Natalie Sciver (10 wickets), Salma Khatun (eight wickets), Poonam Yadav (eight wickets), Anya Shrubsole (12 wickets)

On the men's team, which does not include players such as AB de Villiers, Amit Mishra or Ahmed Shehzad, Boon said:

"It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament.

"As the selection criteria for the Team of the Tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team.  

"Bowlers in particular performed strongly throughout this tournament, and the side we have selected includes three of the most impressive bowlers in Dale Steyn, Samuel Badree and Lasith Malinga. 

"The team also contains six specialist batsmen, including Stephan Myburgh from the Netherlands as an opening batsman, as well as three all-rounders, including MS Dhoni as a wicket-keeper batsman."

ICC World Twenty20 Team Of The Tournament: Rohit Sharma (200 runs), Stephan Myburgh (224 runs), Virat Kohli (319 runs), JP Duminy (187 runs), Glenn Maxwell (147 runs), MS Dhoni (50 runs, six dismissals), Darren Sammy (101 runs), Ravichandran Ashwin (11 wickets), Dale Steyn (nine wickets), Samuel Badree (11 wickets), Lasith Malinga (five wickets)

© Cricket World 2014