< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Asalanka flags off Sri Lanka campaign in style against Bangladesh

Sri Lanka got off to a fine start in the Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup with a five-wicket win over Bangladesh at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh batting first posted 171 for four in their 20 overs and in response Sri Lanka chased down the target in 18.5 overs to finish on 172 for five.

Earlier, Bangladesh started off well with openers Mohammad Naim and Liton Das adding 40 for the opening wicket. Despite the early dismissal of Shakib Al Hasan, Naim held on. Naim made 62 off 52 balls with six boundaries. Naim added 73 for the third wicket with experienced Mushfiqur Rahim (57 n.o.: 37b, 5x4, 2x6). Towards the end, Bangladesh finished on a high as the experienced batsmen like Rahim and captain Mahmudullah scored runs at will.

Bangladesh finished on 171 for four in their 20 overs.

For Sri Lanka the most economical bowler was Chamika Karunaratne giving away just 12 runs in his three overs and he also picked up the crucial Shakib wicket.

In their chase, Sri Lanka were well served by a second wicket stand of 69 between Pathum Nissanka and Charith Asalanka. Then there was a brief collapse as Sri Lanka went from being 71 for 1 to 79 for four. But then the innings and the chase was revived by a fine fifth wicket stand between Asalanka (80 n.o.: 49b, 5x4, 5x6) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (53: 31b, 3x4, 3x6). This stand was worth 86 as Sri Lanka chased down the target in 18.5 overs to finish on 172 for five.

For Bangladesh the best bowler on view was all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan who finished with figures of two for 17. The other successful bowler was Nasum Ahmed (2-29).

Match Summary

Bangladesh: 171-4 (20)

Fall of wickets: 1-40 (Liton Das-5.5 ov), 2-56 (Shakib Al Hasan-7.4 ov), 3-129 (Mohammad Naim-16.1 ov), 4-150 (Afif Hossain-18.3 ov)

Sri Lanka; 172-5 (18.5)

Fall of Wickets - 1-2 (Kusal Perera - 0.4 ov), 2-71 (Pathum Nissanka - 8.1 ov), 3-71 (Avishka Fernando - 8.4 ov), 4-79 (Wanindu Hasaranga - 9.4 ov), 5-165 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa - 18.2 ov)


Playing XIs

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera (wicket-keeper), Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando

Bangladesh: Litton Das, Mohammad Naim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mahmudullah (captain), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Match Details

Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Adrian Holdstock, Joel Wilson (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Rod Tucker (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021