< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Bangladesh hold their nerves to down Zimbabwe

Bangladesh held their nerves to beat Zimbabwe by three runs in a Group 2 ICC Men's T20 World Cup clash at the Gabba on Sunday morning.

After opting to bat Bangladesh made 150 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response, Zimbabwe finished on 147 for eight in their 20 overs.

Earlier Bangladesh was well served by a 54 run third wicket stand between captain Shakib Al Hasan (23) and opener Najmul Hossain Shanto. This partnership put the innings back on track. Then Shanto added a further 36 runs for the fourth wicket with Afif Hossain (29). After Shanto fell for 71 off 55 balls with seven boundaries and a six, the innings lost its way. Bangladesh finished on 150 for seven in their 20 overs. For Zimbabwe the two best bowlers were Richard Ngarva (2-24) and Blessing Muzarabani (2-13).

In their response, Zimbabwe was reduced to 17 for two. Then they lost two more wickets to be placed at 35 for four. Then Regis Chakabva (15) added 34 runs for the fifth wicket with Sean Williams. Just when it appeared that the chase was back on track, Chakabva fell. Williams then teamed up with Ryan Burl to add 63 runs for the sixth wicket. Williams finally fell for 64 off 42 balls with eight boundaries. With 16 runs needed in the final over, there was a lot of drama as they lost two wickets. Richard Ngarva hit a four and a six off the first two balls he faced. Finally Bangladesh needed five runs off the last ball. But Zimbabwe failed to do it. There was a lot of drama off the last ball. There was a no-ball off the last ball that Mosaddek bowled. Then Zimbabwe had one more chance, off the free hit, but they could not do it. In the end Bangladesh won by three runs. Zimbabwe finished on 147 for eight in their 20 overs. For Bangladesh the best bowlers were Taskin Ahmed (3-19), Mosaddek Hossain (3-33) and Mustafizur Rahman (2-15). 

Match Summary
Bangladesh: 150-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Soumya Sarkar-1.4 ov), 2-32 (Litton Das-5.3 ov), 3-86 (Shakib Al Hasan-12.5 ov), 4-122 (Najmul Hossain Shanto-16.2 ov), 5-147 (Mosaddek Hossain-19.2 ov), 6-149 (Nurul Hasan-19.4 ov), 7-150 (Afif Hossain-19.6 ov)

Zimbabwe: 147-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Wessly Madhevere-0.3 ov), 2-17 (Craig Ervine-2.4 ov), 3-35 (Milton Shumba-5.2 ov), 4-35 (Sikandar Raza-5.5 ov), 5-69 (Regis Chakabva-11.2 ov), 6-132 (Sean Williams-18.4 ov), 7-136 (Brad Evans-19.2 ov), 8-146 (Richard Ngarava-19.5 ov)


Playing XI
Zimbabwe: Wessly Madhevere, Craig Ervine (captain), Milton Shumba, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva (wicket-keeper), Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Brad Evans, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani

Bangladesh: Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mosaddek Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to bat
Venue: Gabba, Brisbane
Start time: 0300 hrs GMT
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Chris Gaffaney (TV Umpire); Kumar Dharmasena (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee) 

©Cricket World 2022