< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Clinical India just too good for Netherlands

India's Virat Kohli celebrates his half century
India's Virat Kohli celebrates his half century

India continued its forward march in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup as they beat Netherlands by 56 runs in a Group 2 clash at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Thursday.

After opting to bat, India posted 179 for two in their 20 overs and in their response Netherlands finished on 123 for nine in 20 overs.

Earlier, India lost vice-captain KL Rahul cheaply. Then captain Rohit Sharma teamed up with Virat Kohli to put on 73 runs for the second wicket. Sharma finally fell for 53 off 39 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Thereafter, Kohli added an unbroken 95 runs for the third wicket with Suryakumar Yadav. The pair destroyed Netherlands bowling at will as they took India to 179 for two in their 20 overs. Kohli remained unbeaten on 62 off 44 balls with three boundaries and two sixes, while Yadav finished unbeaten on 51 off 25 balls with seven boundaries and a six.

In their response, Netherlands lost wickets at regular intervals. They never really got a partnership going. Netherlands batting just did not find any saviour. Only four batters got into double figures including Tim Pringle (20), Colin Ackermann (17), Bas de Leede (16) and Max O'Dowd (16). In the end Netherlands finished on 123 for nine in their 20 overs. For India the best bowlers were Ravichandran Ashwin (2-21), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2-9), Axar Patel (2-18) and Arshdeep Singh (2-37). 

 Match Summary

India vs Netherlands, 23rd Match, ICC Men's T20 World Cup

India 179/2 (20 ov)

Netherlands 123/9 (20 ov)

Result - India won by 56 runs


Match Stats 

India Fall of wickets: 1-11 (KL Rahul - 2.4 ov), 2-84 (Rohit Sharma - 11.6 ov)

Netherlands Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Vikramjit Singh-2.2 ov), 2-20 (Max O'Dowd-4.2 ov), 3-47 (Bas de Leede-9.2 ov), 4-62 (Colin Ackermann-12.1 ov), 5-63 (Tom Cooper-12.4 ov), 6-87 (Tim Pringle-15.4 ov), 7-89 (Scott Edwards-16.3 ov), 8-101 (Logan van Beek-17.5 ov), 9-101 (Fred Klaassen-17.6 ov) 

Playing XIs
India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Netherlands: Vikramjit Singh, Max O'Dowd, Tom Cooper, Scott Edwards (captain & wicket-keeper), Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Tim Pringle, Logan van Beek, Shariz Ahmad, Fred Klaasen, Paul van Meekeren

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground
Start time: 0700 hrs GMT
Match officials: Ahsan Raza, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Rod Tucker (TV Umpire); Langton Rusere (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022

Points Table