< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: England storm to a fine win over Australia

England stormed to their third straight win in the Super 12 stage as they thrashed Australia by eight wickets in the ICC T20 World Cup at the Dubai International Stadium on Saturday night.

Asked to bat, Australia was shot out for 125 in their 20 overs and England overhauled the target in 11.4 overs to finish on 126 for two.

Earlier, Australia got off to the worst possible start as they were reduced to 21 for four. A brief 30 run fifth wicket stand between captain Aaron Finch and wicket-keeper Matthew Wade revived the innings. Then a further 47 runs were added for the sixth wicket between Finch and Ashton Agar which gave some hope to the Aussies. But thereafter there was a procession. Finch was the seventh man out for 44. But the rest of the batting collapsed Australia ended on 125 all out.

For England the best bowler was Chris Jordan (3-17). The other wicket-takers were Tymal Mills (2-45) and Chris Woakes (2-23).

The chase for England was as easy as it comes. Their openers Jason Roy and Jos Buttler began in a hurry as they put on 66 in 6.2 overs. Buttler carried the bat through the chase as he shared another crucial stand worth 31 for the second wicket with Dawid Malan. Then he applied finishing touches to the chase with Jonny Bairstow to complete a famous win for England. Buttler ended unbeaten on 71 off just 32 balls with five boundaries and five sixes.

England overhauled the target in 11.4 overs with eight wickets to spare to finish on 126 for two.

Match Summary

Australia: 125 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (David Warner-1.2 ov), 2-8 (Steven Smith-2.1 ov), 3-15 (Glenn Maxwell-3.5 ov), 4-21 (Marcus Stoinis-6.1 ov), 5-51 (Matthew Wade-11.4 ov), 6-98 (Ashton Agar-17.4 ov), 7-110 (Aaron Finch-18.1 ov), 8-110 (Pat Cummins-18.2 ov), 9-119 (Adam Zampa-19.4 ov), 10-125 (Mitchell Starc-19.6 ov)

England: 126-2 (11.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-66 (Jason Roy-6.2 ov), 2-97 (Dawid Malan-9.1 ov)

Result: England won by eight wickets


Playing XI
Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (captain), Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Tymal Mills

Match details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Kumar Dharmasena (TV Umpire); Aleem Dar (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)