< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Finch leads the way as Australia beat Ireland

Australia are back in the reckoning for a place in the semi-finals of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 as they beat Ireland by 42 runs in a Group 1 clash at the Gabba in Brisbane on Monday.

Asked to bat, Australia posted 179 for five in their 20 overs and in their response Ireland was bowled out for 137 in 18.1 overs.

Earlier, Australia was well served by a 52 run second wicket stand between skipper Aaron Finch and Mitchell Marsh. Thereafter, Finch put on 70 runs for the fourth wicket with Marcus Stoinis. Finch finally fell for 63 off 44 balls with five boundaries and three sixes. Towards the end Australia did not finish on a high as they made 179 for five in their 20 overs. For Ireland the best bowlers were Barry McCarthy (3-29) and Josh Little (2-21).

In their reply, Ireland kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Ireland was reduced to 25 for five. Then Gareth Delany added 43 runs for the sixth wicket with Lorcan Tucker. Thereafter, Tucker took charge of the innings as he played a lone hand. He did not receive much support later on. Only Barry McCarthy added 33 runs for the ninth wicket with him. Tucker finished unbeaten on 71 off 48 balls with nine boundaries and a six. Ireland were bowled out for 137 in 18.1 overs. For Australia the best bowlers were Adam Zampa (2-19), Pat Cummins (2-28) 

Match Summary
Australia: 179-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (David Warner-2.1 ov), 2-60 (Mitchell Marsh-8.1 ov), 3-84 (Glenn Maxwell-10.5 ov), 4-154 (Aaron Finch-16.5 ov), 5-160 (Marcus Stoinis-18.4 ov)

Ireland: 137 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Andy Balbirnie-1.6 ov), 2-18 (Paul Stirling-2.2 ov), 3-24 (Harry Tector-2.6 ov), 4-25 (Curtis Campher-3.2 ov), 5-25 (George Dockrell-3.6 ov), 6-68 (Gareth Delany-9.2 ov), 7-91 (Mark Adair-12.2 ov), 8-103 (Fionn Hand, 14.2 ov), 9-136 (Barry McCarthy-17.2 ov), 10-137 (Josh Little-18.1 ov)


Playing XI
Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (captain), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andy Balbirnie (captain), Lorcan Tucker (wicket-keeper), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Fionn Hand, Josh Little

Match Details
Toss: Ireland, elected to field
Venue: Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Kumar Dharmasena (TV Umpire); Ahsan Raza (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022