< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Hasaranga spins Sri Lanka to a fine win

Sri Lanka kept their hopes of a place in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 semi-final with a comprehensive six-wicket win over Afghanistan in a Group 1 clash at the Gabba in Brisbane on Tuesday.

After opting to bat, Afghanistan made 144 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response Sri Lanka chased down the target in 18.3 overs to finish on 148 for four.

Earlier, Afghanistan openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Usman Ghani added 42 runs for the opening wicket. Then Ibrahim Zadran and Najibullah Zadran carried the innings forward. But there was no proper contribution from the other batters as Afghanistan kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Afghanistan finished on 144 for eight in their 20 overs. For Sri Lanka the best bowlers were Wanindu Hasaranga (3-13) and Lahiru Kumara (2-30).

In their response Sri Lanka lost their opener Pathum Nissanka cheaply. Then Kusal Mendis put on 36 runs for the secpnd wicket to revive the chase. Dhananjaya de Silva then took charge as he added 54 for the third wicket with Charith Asalanka. Bhanuka Rajapaksa added a further 42 for the fourth wicket with Dhananjaya. After Rajapaksa fell, Dhananjaya finished formalities as he ended unbeaten on 66 off 42 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. Sri Lanka chased down the target in 18.3 overs to finish on 148 four. For Afghanistan the best bowlers were Mujeeb ur Rahman (2-24) and Rashid Khan (2-31). 

Match Summary
Afghanistan: 144-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz-6.1 ov), 2-68 (Usman Ghani-10.2 ov), 3-90 (Ibrahim Zadran-12.2 ov), 4-113 (Najibullah Zadran-15.6 ov), 5-127 (Gulbadin Naib-17.2 ov), 6-140 (Mohammad Nabi-18.5 ov), 7-142 (Rashid Khan-19.3 ov), 8-144 (Mujeeb Ur Rahman-19.6 ov)

Sri Lanka: 148-4 (18.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Pathum Nissanka-1.6 ov), 2-46 (Kusal Mendis-7.5 ov), 3-100 (Charith Asalanka-13.3 ov), 4-142 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-17.6 ov) 


Playing XIs
Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Pramod Madushan, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicket-keeper), Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi (captain), Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fareed Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Match Details
Toss: Afghanistan, elected to bat
Venue: Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Ahsan Raza, Rod Tucker (On-field Umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpires); Langton Rusere (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022

Points Table