< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Hasaranga's bat carries Sri Lanka to Super 12

Sri Lanka sealed their place in the Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup with a second impressive win in the first round over Ireland by a massive 70 runs.

Earlier, Sri Lanka after being asked to bat posted 171 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response, Ireland were bowled out for 101 in 18.3 overs.

Sri Lanka recovered from a precarius eight for three thanks to a terrific stand between Pathum Nissanka and Wanindu Hasaranga. The surprise factor was the promotion of Hasaranga. He added 123 runs for the fourth wicket with Nissanka (61: 47b, 6x4, 1x6). Hasaranga was the top-scorer with 71 off 47 balls with 10 boundaries and one six. Towards the end captain Dasun Shanaka struck long sixes including a 100 metre six. Sri Lanka finished on a high at 171 for seven in 20 overs.

For Ireland the best bowlers were Josh Little (4-23) and Mark Adair (2-35).

In their response, Ireland's chase never really got going. They lost wickets at regular intervals during their chase. Barring a 53 run fourth wicket stand between captain Andy Balirnie and Curtis Campher, there was nothing much to write home about. The other batsmen struggled to keep up with the chase and as a result Ireland folded up for just 101 in 18.3 overs.

For Sri Lanka the best bowlers were Maheesh Theekshana (3-17), Chamika Karunaratne (2-27) and Lahiru Kumara (2-22).

Match Summary

Sri Lanka: 171-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Kusal Perera-0.2 ov), 2-8 (Dinesh Chandimal-1.3 ov), 3-8 (Avishka Fernando-1.4 ov), 4-131 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-15.2 ov), 5-143 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-16.4 ov), 6-157 (Pathum Nissanka-18.5 ov), 7-160 (Chamika Karunaratne-19.3 ov)

Ireland: 101 (18.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Kevin O'Brien-0.6 ov), 2-18 (Paul Stirling-2.3 ov), 3-32 (Gareth Delany-4.2 ov), 4-85 (Curtis Campher-12.5 ov), 5-88 (Harry Tector-13.5 ov), 6-89 (Neil Rock-14.2 ov), 7-92 (Mark Adair-15.1 ov), 8-94 (Andy Balbirnie-15.4 ov), 9-98 (Craig Young-17.1 ov), 10-101 (Josh Little-18.3 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by 70 runs


Playing XI
Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Kevin O'Brien, Andy Balbirnie (captain), Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Neil Rock (wicket-keeper), Simi Singh, Mark Adair, Josh Little, Craig Young

Match Details
Toss: Ireland, elected to field
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Nitin Menon, Paul Wilson (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Langton Rusere (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)