< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Ireland roar back to form on Campher's all-round display

Ireland's Lorcan Tucker
Ireland's Lorcan Tucker
Scotlands' Michael Jones
Scotlands' Michael Jones

Ireland came back in fine style to stay afloat in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 as they beat Scotland by six wickets in the first round Group B encounter at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart on Wednesday.

After opting to bat Scotland posted 176 for five in their 20 overs and in response Ireland chased down the score in 19 overs to finish on 180 for four.

Earlier, Scotland was well served by a 59 run second wicket stand between Michael Jones and Matthew Cross. Then Jones added a further 77 runs for the third wicket with captain Richie Berrington. Jones finished on 86 off 55 balls with six boundaries and four sixes. In the end Scotland finished on 176 for five in their 20 overs. For Ireland the best bowler was Curtis Campher (2-9).

In their response, Ireland lost wickets at regular intervals. Ireland was struggling at 61 for four in 9.3 overs. It seemed all over bar the shout for Ireland. That's when Campher teamed up with George Dockrell to pull Ireland out of trouble. The pair added 119 runs for the fifth wicket. Campher remained unbeaten on 72 off 32 balls with seven boundaries and two sixes. Dockrell remained unbeaten on 39 off 27 balls with four boundaries and a six. Ireland chased down the score in 19 overs to finish on 180 for four. 

Match Summary
Scotland: 176-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (George Munsey-1.1 ov), 2-60 (Matthew Cross-8.1 ov), 3-137 (Richie Berrington-16.1 ov), 4-170 (Michael Jones-18.5 ov), 5-176 (Calum MacLeod-19.6 ov)

Ireland: 180-4 (19)
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Andy Balbirnie-3.2 ov), 2-29 (Paul Stirling-4.3 ov), 3-57 (Lorcan Tucker-8.4 ov), 4-61 (Harry Tector-9.3 ov)


 Result: Ireland won by six wickets 

Playing XI
Scotland: George Munsey, Michael Jones, Matthew Cross (wicket-keeper), Richie Berrington (captain), Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Chris Greaves, Mark Watt, Josh Davey, Safyaan Sharif, Brad Wheal

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andy Balbirnie (captain), Lorcan Tucker (wicket-keeper), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Simi Singh, Barry McCarthy, Josh Little  

Match Details
Toss: Scotland, elected to bat
Venue: Bellerive Oval, Hobart
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena (On-field Umpires); Paul Wilson (TV Umpire); Aleem Dar (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022