< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Kohli, fielding give India a narrow win

India kept its hopes of a place in the semi-final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup alive with a heart-stopping five run win (thanks to DLS method) over Bangladesh in a Group 2 clash at the Adelaide Oval on Wednesday.

After being asked to bat India posted 184 for six in their 20 overs and in response Bangladesh finished on 145 for six in 16 overs as.

India was well served by a 67 run second wicket stand between Virat Kohli and Lokesh Rahul. Kohli and Rahul took the game away from Bangladesh with their carefree approach. Rahul reached his first half-century of the tournament as he made 50 off 32 balls with three boundaries and four sixes. Kohli then added a further 38 runs for the third wicket with Suryakumar Yadav (30). Then India lost wickets in quick succession. India finally finished on 184 for six in their 20 overs. Kohli finished unbeaten on 64 off 44 balls with eight boundaries and a six. For Bangladesh the best bowlers were Hasan Mahmud (3-47) and Shakib Al Hasan (2-33).

In their response, Bangladesh made a hectic start to the chase thanks to Litton Das. He slammed brisk 60 off 27 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. Bangladesh reached 66 for no loss off seven overs when rain stopped play. At that stage, Bangladesh was ahead on the DLS method. The par score at the time was 49 for no loss. Then there was a resumption. Now Bangladesh needed 151 for a win from 16 overs. But post the stoppage, the Bangladesh innings lost momentum. Excellent fielding by India dismantled the Bangladesh innings. In the end Nurul Hasan and Taskin Ahmed added 37 runs in 19 balls to revive the chase. Bangladesh needed 20 runs off six balls. But it was too late. Bangladesh finished on 145 for six in their 20 overs. For India the best bowlers were Arshdeep Singh (2-38) and Hardik Pandya (2-28). 

Match Summary
India: 184-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Rohit Sharma-3.2 ov), 2-78 (KL Rahul-9.2 ov), 3-116 (Suryakumar Yadav-13.3 ov), 4-130 (Hardik Pandya-15.1 ov), 5-150 (Dinesh Karthik-16.6 ov), 6-157 (Axar Patel-18.1 ov)

Bangladesh: 145-6 (16)
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Litton Das-7.2 ov), 2-84 (Najmul Hossain Shanto-9.1 ov), 3-99 (Afif Hossain-11.1 ov), 4-100 (Shakib Al Hasan-11.5 ov), 5-102 (Yasir Ali-12.2 ov), 6-108 (Mosaddek Hossain-12.5 ov)


Playing XI
Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mosaddek Hossain, Yasir Ali, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to field
Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Brown, Marais Erasmus (On-field Umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Adrian Holdstock (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022