< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Munsey stars as Scotland upset West Indies

Scotland's George Munsey
Scotland's George Munsey

Scotland inflicted the second big upset of ICC Men's T20 World Cup when they beat West Indies by 42 runs in a first round Group B match at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart on Monday morning.

On a rain-hit day, Scotland asked to bat posted 160 for five in their 20 overs and in their response West Indies were bowled out for 118 in 18.3 overs.

Earlier, Scotland started off smartly as they added 55 for the opening wicket. George Munsey (66 n.o.: 53b, 9x4) added 55 with Michael Jones. Thereafter the innings lost a bit of momentum as Scotland middle-order did not put up a fight. Scotland captain Richie Berrington and Callum MacLeod took did put up a fight. Towards the end, Munsey swung the bat around as Scotland finished on 160 for five in their 20 overs. For West Indies the best bowlers were Jason Holder (2-14) and Alzarri Joseph (2-28).

In their response, West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals. The West Indies collapsed from being 53 for one to 79 for eight. They lost seven wickets for 26 runs. Jason Holder (38) held the innings together for a while as he was the last man to be knocked out. In the end West Indies were bowled out for 118 in 18.3 overs. For Scotland the best bowlers were Mark Watt (3-12), Brad Wheal (2-32) and Michael Leask (2-15). 

Match Summary
Scotland: 160-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-55 (Michael Jones-6.2 ov), 2-63 (Matthew Cross-8.2 ov), 3-86 (Richie Berrington-11.5 ov), 4-117 (Calum MacLeod-15.1 ov), 5-125 (Michael Leask-16.3 ov)

West Indies: 118 (18.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Kyle Mayers-2.4 ov), 2-53 (Evin Lewis-5.5 ov), 3-58 (Brandon King-7.4 ov), 4-62 (Nicholas Pooran-8.4 ov), 5-69 (Rovman Powell-10.1 ov), 6-77 (Shamarh Brooks-11.6 ov), 7-79 (Akeal Hosein-12.4 ov), 8-79 (Alzarri Joseph-13.1 ov), 9-102 (Odean Smith-16.2 ov), 10-118 (Jason Holder-18.3 ov)


Playing XIs
Scotland: George Munsey, Michael Jones, Matthew Cross (wicket-keeper), Richie Berrington (captain), Calum MacLeod, Chris Greaves, Michael Leask, Mark Watt, Josh Davey, Safyaan Sharif, Brad Wheal

West Indies: Kyle Mayers, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran (captain & wicket-keeper), Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy 

Match Details
Toss: West Indies, elected to field
Venue: Bellerive Oval, Hobart
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Aleem Dar, Paul Wilson (On-field Umpires); Chris Brown (TV Umpire); Kumar Dharmasena (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022