< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Namibia oust Ireland to storm into Super 12 stage

Namibia stormed into the Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup with an impressive eight-wicket win over Ireland in their final Group A match at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

On Friday afternoon, Ireland afer opting to bat was restricted to 125 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response Namibia chased down the target in 18.3 overs to finish on 126 for two.

Ireland started off strongly adding 62 for the opening wicket between Paul Stirling (38) and Kevin O'Brien (25). Thereafter, they lost wickets at regular intervals. They slipped from 94 for two to 121 for eight. There was a steady procession as Namibia's bowlers bowled a tight spell. Ireland finished on 125 for eight in their 20 overs. For Namibia the best bowlers were Jan Frylinck (3-21) and David Wiese (2-22).

The chase for Namibia was quite simple. The hero was captain Gerhard Erasmus who top-scored with 53 off 49 balls with three boundaries and a six. He shared a crucial third wicket unbroken stand with Wiese as Namibia chased down the target with absolute ease as they finished on 126 for two in 18.3 overs. For Ireland the chief wicket-taker was Curtis Campher (2-14).

Match Summary

Ireland: 125-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Paul Stirling-7.2 ov), 2-67 (Kevin O'Brien-8.4 ov), 3-94 (Gareth Delany-14.2 ov), 4-101 (Andy Balbirnie-16.1 ov), 5-104 (Curtis Campher-16.6 ov), 6-110 (Harry Tector-17.4 ov), 7-116 (Neil Rock-18.4 ov), 8-121 (Mark Adair-19.4 ov)

Namibia: 126-2 (18.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Craig Williams-5.1 ov), 2-73 (Zane Green-13.2 ov)

Result: Namibia won by eight wickets


Playing XI
Ireland: Paul Stirling, Kevin O'Brien, Andy Balbirnie (captain), Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Neil Rock (wicket-keeper), Simi Singh, Mark Adair, Josh Little, Craig Young

Namibia: Zane Green (wicket-keeper), Craig Williams, Gerhard Erasmus (captain), David Wiese, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Pikky Ya France, Ruben Trumpelmann, Michael van Lingen, Bernard Scholtz

Match Details
Toss: Ireland, elected to bat
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Aleem Dar, Chris Brown (On-field Umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Joel Wilson (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)