< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Netherlands hold their nerves to beat UAE

Junaid Siddique UAE celebrates
Junaid Siddique UAE celebrates
Netherlands vs United Arab Emirates

Netherlands got their T20 World Cup 2022 campaign off in fine style as they beat UAE by three wickets with one ball to spare in a first round Group A match at Geelong on Sunday afternoon.

Asked to bat, United Arab Emirates (UAE) posted 111 for eight in their 20 overs and in response Netherlands chased down the target in 19.5 overs to finish on 112 for seven.

UAE started off briskly with a 33 run opening stand between Muhammad Waseem (41) and Chirag Suri. But thereafter the innings lost momentum as they lost wickets at regular intervals. Waseem added 32 runs for the third wicket with Vriitya Aravind. But the innings slipped from 91 for two to 111 for eight in their 20 overs. For Netherlands the best bowlers were Bas de Leede (3-19) and Fred Klaassen (2-13).

In their response, Netherlands lost wickets at regular intervals. The innings was struggling a bit at 59 for three. Then the innings lost momentum as they went from 71 for three to 76 for six. But captain Scott Edwards held the innings together as he added 27 runs for the seventh wicket with Tim Pringle. In the end Netherlands chased down the target in 19.5 overs to finish on 112 for seven. For UAE the best bowler was Junaid Siddique (3-24). 

Match Summary

UAE: 111-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Chirag Suri-6.3 ov), 2-59 (Kashif Daud-10.3 ov), 3-91 (Muhammad Waseem-15.6 ov), 4-99 (Zawar Farid-17.3 ov), 5-103 (Vriitya Aravind-18.1 ov), 6-104 (Basil Hameed-18.3 ov), 7-106 (Chundangapoyil Rizwan-18.6 ov), 8-110 (Aayan Afzal Khan-19.5 ov)

Netherlands: 112-7 (19.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Vikramjit Singh-1.3 ov), 2-41 (Max O'Dowd-5.4 ov), 3-59 (Bas de Leede-8.5 ov), 4-71 (Colin Ackermann-11.4 ov), 5-76 (Tom Cooper-13.1 ov), 6-76 (Roelof van der Merwe-13.3 ov), 7-103 (Tim Pringle-18.3 ov)


Playing XIs
United Arab Emirates: Muhammad Waseem, Chirag Suri, Vriitya Aravind (wicket-keeper), CP Rizwan (captain), Basil Hameed, Zawar Farid, Aayan Khan, Kashif Daud, Karthik Meiyappan, Junaid Siddique, Zahoor Khan

Netherlands: Max O'Dowd, Vikram Singh, Bas de Leede, Tom Cooper, Colin Ackermann, Scott Edwards (captain & wicket-keeper), Roelof van der Merwe, Tim Pringle, Logan van Beek, Fredrick Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren  

Match Details
Toss: UAE, elected to bat
Venue: GMHBA Stadium, South Geelong, Victoria
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Paul Reiffel, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Rod Tucker (TV Umpire); Joel Wilson (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022