< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Netherlands huff and puff again to a narrow win over Namibia

Netherlands huffed and puffed their way to a narrow five-wicket win over Namibia in their second Group A first round match at the Kardinia Park Stadium in Geelong on Tuesday.

After opting to bat, Namibia posted 121 for six in their 20 overs and in response, Netherlands chased down the score in 19.3 overs to finish on 122 for five.

Earlier, Namibia were struggling at 32 for three. Then there was a 31 run fourth wicket stand between Stephan Baard (19) and Jan Frylinck (43). This revived the innings to an extent. Thereafter, Frylinck added 41 runs for the fifth wicket with captain Gerhard Erasmus. In the end Namibia finished on 121 for six in their 20 overs. For Netherlands, Bas de Leede was the best bowler (2-18).

In their response, Netherlands started off briskly as Vikramjit Singh and Max O'Dowd added 59. They raced to 59 in just 8.2 overs. But thereafter the innings slowed down. From 92 for one to 102 for five, Netherlands lost four wickets quickly. Bas de Leede held the innings together as he remained unbeaten on 30 off 30 balls with two boundaries. In the end, Netherlands chased down the target in 19.3 overs with three balls to spare as they finished on 122 for five. For Namibia the best bowler was JJ Smit (2-24). 

Match Summary
Namibia: 121-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Divan la Cock-1.2 ov), 2-30 (Michael van Lingen-4.5 ov), 3-32 (Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton-5.2 ov), 4-63 (Stephan Baard-11.2 ov), 5-104 (Jan Frylinck-18.2 ov), 6-105 (Gerhard Erasmus-18.4 ov)

Netherlands: 122-5 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-59 (Vikramjit Singh-8.2 ov), 2-92 (Max O'Dowd-13.5 ov), 3-101 (Tom Cooper-15.3 ov), 4-101 (Colin Ackermann-15.5 ov), 5-102 (Scott Edwards-16.4 ov)

Result: Netherlands won by five wickets 


Playing XI
Namibia : Divan la Cock, Michael van Lingen, Stephan Baard, Gerhard Erasmus (captain), Jan Frylinck, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, JJ Smit, David Wiese, Zane Green (wicket-keeper), Bernard Scholtz, Ben Shikongo

Netherlands: Max O'Dowd, Vikram Singh, Bas de Leede, Tom Cooper, Colin Ackermann, Scott Edwards (captain & wicket-keeper), Roelof van der Merwe, Tim Pringle, Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren

Match Details
Toss: Namibia, elected to bat
Venue: GMHBA Stadium, South Geelong
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Joel Wilson, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Marais Erasmus (TV Umpire); Rod Tucker (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)