< >
Cricket Betting us

ICC T20 WC: Nissanka, bowlers help Sri Lanka roar back to form

Pathum Nissanka's brilliant innings helps Sri Lanka put up a challenging total for UAE
Pathum Nissanka's brilliant innings helps Sri Lanka put up a challenging total for UAE

Sri Lanka roared back to form with a massive 79 run win over UAE at the Kardinia Park Stadium in Geelong on Tuesday afternoon during the ICC Men'S T20 World Cup 2022.

In a Group A second round match Sri Lanka posted 152 for eight in their 20 overs and in response UAE was bowled out for 73 in 17.1 overs.

Earlier, Sri Lanka started off confidently as they started off with a 42 run opening stand between Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis. Then, Dhananjaya de Silva (33) added 50 runs for the second wicket with Nissanka. There was a major collapse thereafter as Karthik Meiyappan picked up a hat-trick as he dismissed Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka and Dasun Shanaka. Sri Lanka went from 117 for two to 117 for five. Towards the end, Sri Lanka lost few more wickets but Nissanka was the last man out for 74 off 60 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. Sri Lanka finished on 152 for eight in their 20 overs. For UAE the best bowlers were Meyappan (3-19) and Zahoor Khan (2-26).

In their response, UAE lost wickets at regular intervals. They were reduced to 21 for four. Only opener Chirag Suri tried to score runs, but the others did not have any contribution. Then there was brief resistance from Aayan Afzal Khan who made 19, the top-scorer. Towards the end Junaid Siddique (18) used the long handle to good effect. UAE was bowled out for 73 in the end in 17.1 overs. For Sri Lanka, the best bowlers were Wanindu Hasaranga (3-8), Dushmantha Chameera (3-15) and Maheesh Theekshaa (2-15). 

Match Summary
Sri Lanka: 152-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Kusal Mendis-4.4 ov), 2-92 (Dhananjaya de Silva-11.1 ov), 3-117 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-14.4 ov), 4-117 (Charith Asalanka-14.5 ov), 5-117 (Dasun Shanaka-14.6 ov), 6-120 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-15.4 ov), 7-150 (Chamika Karunaratne-19.3 ov), 8-151 (Pathum Nissanka-19.5 ov)

UAE: 73 (17.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Muhammad Waseem-2.2 ov), 2-17 (Aryan Lakra-2.6 ov), 3-19 (Chundangapoyil Rizwan-4.2 ov), 4-21 (Chirag Suri-5.3 ov), 5-30 (Basil Hameed-8.2 ov), 6-36 (Vriitya Aravind-9.5 ov), 7-42 (Kashif Daud-11.3 ov), 8-52 (Karthik Meiyappan-13.5 ov), 9-56 (Aayan Afzal Khan-14.6 ov), 10-73 (Junaid Siddique-17.1 ov)


Result: Sri Lanka won by 79 runs 

Playing XI
Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, 2 Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Pramod Madushan, Maheesh Theekshana

UAE: Muhammad Waseem, Chundangapoyil Rizwan (captain), Aryan Lakra, Vriitya Aravind (wicket-keeper), Chirag Suri, Basil Hameed, Kashif Daud, Aayan Afzal Khan, Karthik Meiyappan, Junaid Siddique, Zahoor Khan

Match Details
Toss: UAE, elected to field
Venue: GMHBA Stadium, South Geelong
Start time: 1000 hrs GMT
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Rod Tucker (On-field Umpires); Joel Wilson (TV Umpire); Richard Kettleborough (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)