< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Pakistan register second win to keep up momentum

Pakistan registered their second win in the ICC T20 World Cup in the Super 12 stage as they beat New Zealand by five wickets at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Tuesday night.

New Zealand after being asked to bat posted 134 for eight in their 20 overs and Pakistan chased down te target n 18.4 overs to finish on 135 for five.

Earlier, New Zealand got off to a good start, but then son slipped to 56 for three. It required a 36 run stand between captain Kane Williamson and Devon Conway to revive the chase. Towards the end New Zealand lost quite a few wickets in a heap as they finished on a modest 134 for eight in their 20 overs.

For Pakistan the top wicket-taker was Haris Rauf (4-22).

The chase for Pakistan was tough as they lost wickets at regular intervals. At one stage they were 69 for four. Mohammed Rizwan yet again held the innings up with a fine knock. But once he left, Pakistan were under pressure. Then it required a smart unbeaten 48 run stand for the sixth wicket between Shoaib Malik (26 n.o.) and Asif Ali (27 n.o.) which calmed the nerves for Pakistan. The chase was finally achieved in 18.4 overs as they finished on 135 for five.

For New Zealand the best bowler was Ish Sodhi (2-28).

Shadab Khan and Haris Rauf after Pakistan registered their second win

Match Summary
New Zealand: 134-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Martin Guptill-5.2 ov), 2-54 (Daryl Mitchell-8.2 ov), 3-56 (James Neesham-9.1 ov), 4-90 (Kane Williamson-13.1 ov), 5-116 (Devon Conway-17.1 ov), 6-116 (Glenn Phillips-17.3 ov), 7-125 (Tim Seifert-18.6 ov), 8-134 (Mitchell Santner-19.6 ov)

Pakistan: 135-5 (18.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Babar Azam-5.1 ov), 2-47 (Fakhar Zaman-8.6 ov), 3-63 (Mohammad Hafeez-10.6 ov), 4-69 (Mohammad Rizwan-11.4 ov), 5-87 (Imad Wasim-14.5 ov)

Result: Pakistan won by five wickets


Match Analysis - Salim Parvez - Fearless Pakistan overtake Kiwis


Given their brilliant start with two victories in three days, Pakistan side looks a safe bet to reach the knockout stages of T20 World Cup, staged jointly by UAE and Oman. Just when things were looking A bit wobbly at 87-5, Shoaib Malik (26 not out) and Asif Ali (27 not out), steered the ship in the right direction against New Zealand at Sharjah. A full house, consisting largely of expatriate Pakistanis, created great atmosphere. 

Crucially Babar Azam was second time lucky with the toss of a coin and opted to bowl first. New Zealand wary of the opposition bowling on a slow wicket, knew it will be a tough going. At 54-1 in the 9th over they were on their way to a competitive total. Pakistan bowlers came back in style and were helped by the run out of Kane Williamson for 25. Besides him, Daryl Mitchell and Devon Conway, with 27 apiece to their credit, played well but were not allowed to have much impact, particularly against Haris Rauf, who bagged 4-22 with hostile display and won the Player of the Match award.

It was a smart all round team effort by the Pakistanis that restricted New Zealand to 134-8 in their 20 overs. In their reply Mohammad Rizwan (33) was the most confident amongst his fellow batsmen. His departure in the 12th over with Pakistan 69-4, the game could have swung either way. Asif Ali deserves huge credit for this victory for he only faced 12 balls and hit three sixes to finish the game, with eight balls to spare. Coming in at number seven, he played a finisher’s role to perfection. A knock on the head did shake him but he was equal to the challenge and saw Pakistan home.

With victories against India and New Zealand, Pakistan would face Afghanistan on Friday, with considerable confidence and advantage, though knowing fully well their opponents will have nothing to lose.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Kane Williamson (captain), Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Match Details

Toss: Pakistan, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Michael Gough, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Paul Wilson (TV Umpire); Kumar Dharmasena (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021