< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Pakistan ride their luck, enter their third T20 WC final

Pakistan entered the final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 with a seven-wicket win over New Zealand in the first semi-final at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Wednesday.

 After opting to bat, New Zealand posted 152 for four in their 20 overs and in response Pakistan chased down the target in 19.1 overs to finish on 153 for three.

Earlier, New Zealand's innings was revived by a 34 run second wicket stand between Devon Conway and skipper Kane Williamson. Then there was a 68 run fourth wicket stand between Williamson and Daryl Mitchell. This partnership revived the innings for New Zealand. Mitchell finished unbeaten in the end as he made 53 off 35 balls with three boundaries and a six. In the end New Zealand made 152 for four in their 20 overs. For Pakistan the best bowler was Shaheen Afridi (2-24).

In their response Pakistan's chase was fashioned by a fine 105 run opening partnership between captain Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan. Azam was the first to be dismissed for 53 off 42 balls with seven boundaries. Rizwan then ended on 57 off 43 balls with five boundaries. In the end, Pakistan chased down the target in 19.1 overs to finish on 153 for three. For New Zealand the best bowler was Trent Boult (2-33).

Pakistan will now await the winner of the India v England second semi-final in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). 

Match Summary
New Zealand: 152-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Finn Allen-0.3 ov), 2-38 (Devon Conway-5.6 ov), 3-49 (Glenn Phillips-7.6 ov), 4-117 (Kane Williamson-16.2 ov)

Pakistan: 153-3 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-105 (Babar Azam-12.4 ov), 2-132 (Mohammad Rizwan-16.6 ov), 3-151 (Mohammad Haris-18.6 ov)


Playing XI
Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Kane Williamson (captain), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult  

Match Details
Toss: New Zealand, elected to bat
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Michael Gough (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee) 

© Cricket World 2022

Points Table