< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Roy steers England to second straight win

England registered their second successive win when they beat Bangladesh by eight wickets in a Group 1 Super 12 clash at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Bangladesh after opting to bat posted 124 for nine in their 20 overs and England chased down the target in 14.1 overs to finish on 126 for two.

Earlier, Bangladesh started off aggressively but lost their way and were quickly reduced to 26 for three.

Then senior pro Mushfiqur Rahim and captain Mahmudullah tried to revive the innings with a 37 run fourth wicket stand. But Rahim played a silly shot which cost him his wicket and thereafter Mahmudullah tried very hard to rally the batting. But Mahmudullah got involved in an ungainly run-out with Afif Hossain which upset him. Mahmudullah fell soon after. Towards the end Nasum Ahmed used the long handle to good effect as he made 19 off nine balls. Bangladesh finished on 124 for nine in their 20 overs.

For England the best bowlers were Tymal Mills (3-27), Liam Livingstone (2-15) and Moeen Ali (2-18).

England's openers Jason Roy and Jos Buttler started off well with a 39 run stand. Roy then shared a 73 run stand for the second wicket with Dawid Malan. Roy batted aggressively to finish on 61 on 38 balls with five boundaries and three sixes. Roy was named player of the match for his effort. Malan finished unbeaten on 28 as England achieved the target in 14.1 overs to finish on 126 for two.

Bangladesh's bowlers created no pressure on England batsmen as a result they finished on the losing side for the second successive game.

Match Summary

Bangladesh: 124-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Liton Das-2.2 ov), 2-14 (Mohammad Naim-2.3 ov), 3-26 (Shakib Al Hasan-5.2 ov), 4-63 (Mushfiqur Rahim-10.4 ov), 5-73 (Afif Hossain-12.4 ov), 6-83 (Mahmudullah-14.5 ov), 7-98 (Mahedi Hasan-17.1 ov), 8-124 (Nurul Hasan-19.5 ov), 9-124 (Mustafizur Rahman-19.6 ov)

England: 126-2 (14.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Jos Buttler-4.5 ov), 2-112 (Jason Roy-12.5 ov)

Result: England won by eight wickets


Playing XI
Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (captain), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Tymal Mills

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to bat
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Langton Rusere, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); Rod Tucker (TV Umpire); Adrian Holdstock (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)