< >
Cricket Betting us

ICC T20 WC: Scotland are almost through to Super 12

Scotland all but sealed their place in Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup with a 17 run win over Papua New Guinea at the Oman Cricket Academy in Muscat.

On Tuesday afternoon, Scotland after opting to bat posted 165 for nine in their 20 overs and in response Papua New Guiea (PNG) made a spirited chase but fell short by 17 runs to be bowled out for 148.

Earlier, thanks to Matthew Cross (45) and Richie Berrington (70: 9b, 6x4, 3x6) added 92 runs for the third wicket to put Scotland on the right track. Thereafter the innings did not have any vital partnerships as Berrington played a lone hand. In the end Scotland finished on 165 for nine in their 20 overs. The best bowlers for PNG were Kabua Morea (4-31) and Chad Soper (3-24).

In their response, PNG lost its top-order without a fight yet again. But then there was bit of a revival through a 53 run seventh wicket stand between Kiplin Doriga and Norman Vanua (47). But just when it looked like PNG were staging a comeback, there was another collapse and the innings went into a tailspin handing Scotland an easy 17 run win.

For Scotland the best bowler was Josh Davey (4-18).

Match Summary
Scotland: 165-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Kyle Coetzer-2.2 ov), 2-26 (George Munsey-3.4 ov), 3-118 (Matthew Cross-14.3 ov), 4-151 (Calum MacLeod-18.2 ov), 5-153 (Richie Berrington-18.4 ov), 6-158 (Chris Greaves-19.2 ov), 7-165 (Michael Leask-19.4 ov), 8-165 (Josh Davey-19.5 ov), 9-165 (Mark Watt-19.6 ov)

Papua New Guinea: 148 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Tony Ura-1.3 ov), 2-20 (Lega Siaka-3.3 ov), 3-30 (Assad Vala-4.5 ov), 4-33 (Charles Amini-5.3 ov), 5-35 (Simon Atai-5.6 ov), 6-67 (Sese Bau-11.3 ov), 7-120 (Kiplin Doriga-16.2 ov), 8-128 (Norman Vanua-17.6 ov), 9-135 (Nosaina Pokana-18.4 ov), 10-148 (Chad Soper-19.3 ov)

Result: Scotland won by 17 runs


Playing XI
Scotland: Kyle Coetzer (captain), George Munsey, Mathew Cross (wicket-keeper), Richie Berrington, Callum MacLeod, Mathew Leask, Chris Greaves, Mark Watt, Joshua Davey, Alasdair Evans, Brad Wheal

Papua New Guinea: Tony Ura, Lega Siaka, Assad Vala (captain), Charles Amini, Sese Bau, Norman Vanua, Simon Atai, Kiplin Doriga (wicket-keeper), Chad Soper, Kabua Morea, Nosaina Pokana

Match Details
Toss: Scotland, elected to bat
Venue: Al Amerat Cricket Ground, Ministry Turf 1
Start time: 1400 hrs Oman time
Match officials: Kumar Dharmasena, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Ahsan Raza (TV Umpire); Chris Gaffaney (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)