< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Scotland give New Zealand a scare, but lose by 16 runs

Martin Guptill top scores for New Zealand
Martin Guptill top scores for New Zealand
©ICC / T20 World Cup
Matt Cross with a knock of 27
Matt Cross with a knock of 27
©ICC / T20 World Cup

New Zealand beat Scotland by 16 runs to keep themselves alive in the hunt for the semi-finals of the ICC T20 World Cup.

New Zealand batted first posted 172 for five in their 20 overs and in response, Scotland finished on 156 for five in their 20 overs to lose by 16 runs.

After being asked to bat, New Zealand started off confidently. But very soon they lost Daryl Mitchell and captain Kane Williamson in the fifth over. New Zealand then lost Devon Conway soon enough with the score on 52. New Zealand was in a spot of bother. But just then Martin Guptill allied with Glenn Phillips for the fourth wicket. Guptill ended on 93 off 52 balls with six boundaries an seven sixes. Guptill and Phillips added 105 runs for the fifth wicket. They both fell in quick succession. In the end New Zealand finished on an impressive 172 for five in their 20 overs. The best bowler for Scotland was Safyaan Sharif (2-28).

In their response, Scotland captain Kyle Coetzer got his side off to a brisk start. After Coetzer fell then George Munsey (22) and Matt Cross (27) added 45 runs for the second wicket. Then the innings lost momentum as both Munsey and Cross fell in quick succession. Thereafter, Scotland lost wickets at regular intervals. Then, Michael Leask used the long handle to good effect. He smacked but it was too little too late. In the end Scotland finished on 156 for five to lose by 16 runs. For New Zealand, the best bowler was Trent Boult (2-29).

Match Summary

New Zealand: 172-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Daryl Mitchell-4.1 ov), 2-35 (Kane Williamson-4.5 ov), 3-52 (Devon Conway-6.1 ov), 4-157 (Glenn Phillips-18.2 ov), 5-157 (Martin Guptill-18.3 ov)

Scotland: 156-5 (17)
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Kyle Coetzer-2.4 ov), 2-66 (George Munsey-7.5 ov), 3-76 (Matthew Cross-10.5 ov), 4-102 (Calum MacLeod-14.5 ov), 5-106 (Richie Berrington-15.4 ov)

Result: New Zealand won by 16 runs


Playing XI
Scotland: Kyle Coetzer (captain), George Munsey, Matthew Cross (wicket-keeper), Richie Berrington, Calum MacLeod, Michael Leask, Chris Greaves, Mark Watt, Safyaan Sharif, Alasdair Evans, Brad Wheal

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson (captain), Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi

Match details
Toss: Scotland, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Ahsan Raza, Marais Erasmus (On-field umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Paul Wilson (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)