< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Shadab spins Pakistan to its first T20I win on Australian soil

Pakistan registered its first-ever win in a T20I on Australian soil as they beat Netherlands by six wickets in a Group 2 clash in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup at the Perth Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Earlier, Netherlands after opting to bat posted 91 for nine in their 20 overs and Pakistan chased down the target in 13.5 overs to finish on 95 for four.

Earlier, Netherlands lost wickets at regular intervals. Their number three batter Bas de Leede had to retire hurt when a fast delivery hit him below the right eye. At one stage Netherlands were at 26 for three. Then a 35 run fourth wicket stand between Colin Ackermann and Scott Edwards revived the innings. But thereafter the Netherlands innings lost momentum as they kept losing wickets. In the end Netherlands was restricted to 91 for nine in their 20 overs. For Pakistan the two best bowlers were Shadab Khan (3-22) and Mohammad Wasim (2-15).

In their response Pakistan lost their captain Babar Azam early. Then Mohammad Rizwan put on 37 runs for the second wicket with Fakhar Zaman. Then, Rizwan added a further 30 runs with Shan Masood for the fourth wicket. Rizwan finally fell for 49 off 39 balls with five boundaries. In the end Pakistan chased down the target to finish on 95 for four in 13.5 overs. For Netherlands the successful bowler was Brandon Glover (2-22). 

Match Summary
Netherlands: 91-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Stephan Myburgh-2.2 ov), 1-18* (Bas de Leede-retired hurt), 2-19 (Tom Cooper-6.1 ov), 3-26 (Max O'Dowd-8.1 ov), 4-61 (Colin Ackermann-14.2 ov), 5-69 (Scott Edwards-15.3 ov), 6-73 (Roelof van der Merwe-16.3 ov), 7-81 (Tim Pringle-18.2 ov), 8-81 (Fred Klaassen-18.3 ov), 9-91 (Paul van Meekeren-19.6 ov)

Pakistan: 95-4 (13.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Babar Azam-1.6 ov), 2-53 (Fakhar Zaman-7.1 ov), 3-83 (Mohammad Rizwan-12.1 ov), 4-91 (Shan Masood-13.3 ov)


Playing XI
Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Babar Azam (captain), Shan Masood, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah

Netherlands: Stephan Myburgh, Max ODowd, Bas de Leede, Colin Ackermann, Tom Cooper, Scott Edwards (wicket-keeper & captain), Roelof van der Merwe, Tim Pringle, Fred Klaassen, Brandon Glover, Paul van Meekeren

Match Details
Toss: Netherlands, elected to bat
Venue: Perth Stadium
Start time: 0700 hrs GMT
Match officials: Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Langton Rusere (TV Umpire); Richard Kettleborough (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022

Points Table