< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Shadab's all-round show helps Pakistan to stay afloat

Pakistan's hopes of making the semi-finals of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup alive with a 33 run win over South Africa via the DLS Method at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Thursday.

After opting to bat Pakistan posted 185 for nine in their 20 overs and in their response South Africa finished on 108 for nine in 14 overs after their target was revised to 142.

Pakistan was reduced to 43 for four in 6.3 overs. They were struggling at that stage when Iftikhar Ahmed and Mohammad Nawaz teamed up to add 52 runs for the fifth wicket. After that the game turned on its head. Shadab Khan added 82 runs for the sixth wicket with Iftikhar. Shadab finished on 52 off 22 balls with three boundaries and four sixes. Iftikhar ended on 51 off 35 balls with three boundaries and two sixes. In the end Pakistan finished on 185 for nine in their 20 overs. For South Africa the best bowler was Anrich Nortje (4-41).

In their response South Africa was struggling at 16 for two. South Africa captain Temba Bavuma (36) added 49 runs for the third wicket with Aiden Markram. The chase was back on track. But just when it appeared that the chase was going to be revived rain played spoilsport at the end of nine overs. After a longish break, when play resumed the target was revised to 142 in 14 overs. But post the break South Africa came under pressure and kept losing wickets at regular intervals. South Africa finished on 108 for nine in 14 overs. For Pakistan the best bowlers were Shaheen Afridi (3-14) and Shadab (2-16). 

Match Summary
Pakistan: 185-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Mohammad Rizwan-0.4 ov), 2-38 (Mohammad Haris-4.4 ov), 3-40 (Babar Azam-5.2 ov), 4-43 (Shan Masood-6.3 ov), 5-95 (Mohammad Nawaz-12.6 ov), 6-177 (Shadab Khan-18.5 ov), 7-177 (Mohammad Wasim-18.6 ov), 8-177 (Iftikhar Ahmed-19.1 ov), 9-185 (Haris Rauf-19.6 ov)

South Africa: 108-9 (14)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Quinton de Kock-0.6 ov), 2-16 (Rilee Rossouw-2.4 ov), 3-65 (Temba Bavuma-7.1 ov), 4-66 (Aiden Markram-7.3 ov), 5-94 (Heinrich Klaasen-10.5 ov), 6-99 (Wayne Parnell-11.5 ov), 7-101 (Tristan Stubbs-12.4 ov), 8-103 (Kagiso Rabada-13.2 ov), 9-103 (Anrich Nortje-13.4 ov)


Playing XI
Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Shan Masood, Mohammad Haris, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi

Match Details
Toss: Pakistan, elected to bat
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Paul Reiffel (On-field Umpires); Paul Wilson (TV Umpire); Nitin Menon (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022

Points Table