< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Shakib's all-round show keeps Bangladesh alive

Bangladesh kept the hopes of making the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup with a 26 run win over host Oman at the Oman Cricket Academy in Muscat.

On Tuesday night, Bangladesh made 153 in their 20 overs after opting to bat and in their response, Oman fell short by 26 runs to finish on 127 for nine in their 20 overs.
Earlier, Bangladesh recovered from 21 for two thanks to opener Mohammad Naim (64: 50b, 3x4, 4x6) and Shakib Al Hasan (42). The pair added 80 for the third wicket which put the innings back on track. But the others in the line-up struggled against some accurate bowling as they collapsed. The batting still managed to reach a respectable 153 in their 20 overs. For Oman the big wicket-takers were Bilal Khan (3-18), Fayyaz Butt (3-30) and Kaleemullah (2-30).

In their response, Oman were well served by their opener Jatinder Singh (40) who shared useful stands with Kashyap Prajapati and captain Zeeshan Maqsood. But the innings fell apart soon enough as they went from 81 for two to 112 for nine in quick time putting paid to Oman's hopes. As a result the asking rate kept rising and ultimately Bangladesh ran home easy winners by 26 runs. Oman finished on 127 for nine in their 20 overs. For Bangladesh the wicket-takers were Mustafizur Rahman (4-36) and Shakib (3-28).

Match Summary

Bangladesh: 153 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Liton Das-2.5 ov), 2-21 (Mahedi Hasan-4.3 ov), 3-101 (Shakib Al Hasan-13.3 ov), 4-112 (Nurul Hasan-14.6 ov), 5-120 (Afif Hossain-16.1 ov), 6-122 (Mohammad Naim-16.4 ov), 7-138 (Mushfiqur Rahim-18.1 ov), 8-138 (Mohammad Saifuddin-18.2 ov), 9-151 (Mahmudullah-19.3 ov), 10-153 (Mustafizur Rahman-19.6 ov)

Oman: 127-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Aqib Ilyas-1.1 ov), 2-47 (Kashyap Prajapati-5.4 ov), 3-81 (Zeeshan Maqsood-11.2 ov), 4-90 (Jatinder Singh-12.6 ov), 5-101 (Sandeep Goud-15.3 ov), 6-105 (Ayaan Khan-16.3 ov), 7-105 (Naseem Khushi-16.4 ov), 8-112 (Kaleemullah-17.4 ov), 9-112 (Fayyaz Butt-17.6 ov)

Result: Banglades won by 26 runs


Playing XI
Bangladesh: Liton Das, Mahedi Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman

Oman: Aqib Ilyas, Jatinder Singh, Kashyap Prajapati, Zeeshan Maqsood (captain), Ayaan Khan, Sandeep Goud,
Mohammad Nadeem, Naseem Khushi (wicket-keeper), Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Bilal Khan

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to bat
Venue: Al Amerat Cricket Ground, Ministry Turf 1
Start time: 1800 hrs Oman time
Match officials: Ahsan Raza, Chris Gaffaney (On-field Umpires); Kumar Dharmasena (TV Umpire); Richard Kettleborough (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)