< >
Cricket Betting us

ICC T20 WC: SKY takes India to top of the group, sets up England clash

India booked its place in the semi-final against England of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 with an impressive 71 run win over Zimbabwe in a Group 2 clash at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday.

With this win India topped Group 2.

After opting to bat first, India posted 186 for five in their 20 overs and in their response Zimbabwe was bowled out for 115 in 17.2 overs.

India will now play England on Thursday in the second semi-final at the Adelaide Oval.

India started off cautiously with their openers vice-captain Lokesh Rahul and captain Rohit Sharma putting on 27. Rahul then teamed up with Virat Kohli putting on 60 runs for the second wicket. Rahul finally finished on 51 off 35 balls with three sixes and three boundaries. India went from being 87 for one to 101 for four. Then Suryakumar Yadav began striking at will as he made an unbeaten 61 off 25 balls with six boundaries and four sixes. Yadav added 65 runs for the fifth wicket with Hardik Pandya. India finished on 186 for five. For Zimbabwe the best bowler was Sean Williams (2-9).

In their response Zimbabwe struggled against the swing obtained by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh. The duo dismissed the top-order quite cheaply. They lost wickets at regular intervals to be reduced to 31 for four. Then there was another fall with Tony Munyonga being dismissed. The side was struggling at 36 for five in 7.3 overs. Then Sikandar Raza and Ryan Burl teamed up for Zimbabwe as they added 60 runs for the sixth wicket. But Burl fell for 35 with five boundaries and a six. Then Zimbabwe found it difficult. In the end Raza finished on 34, as Zimbabwe lost wickets in a heap towards the end as they ended on 115 in 17.2 overs. For India the wicket-takers were Ravichandran Ashwin (3-22), Mohammed Shami (2-14) and Hardik Pandya (2-16). 

Match Summary
India: 186-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Rohit Sharma-3.5 ov), 2-87 (Virat Kohli-11.5 ov), 3-95 (KL Rahul-12.2 ov), 4-101 (Rishabh Pant-13.3 ov), 5-166 (Hardik Pandya-19.2 ov)

Zimbabwe: 115 (17.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Wessly Madhevere-0.1 ov), 2-2 (Regis Chakabva-1.4 ov), 3-28 (Sean Williams-5.6 ov), 4-31 (Craig Ervine-6.4 ov), 5-36 (Tony Munyonga-7.3 ov), 6-96 (Ryan Burl, 13.2 ov), 7-104 (Wellington Masakadza-15.1 ov), 8-106 (Richard Ngarava-15.5 ov), 9-111 (Sikandar Raza-16.4 ov), 10-115 (Tendai Chatara-17.2 ov) 


Playing XI
India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh.

Zimbabwe: Wessly Madhevere, Craig Ervine (captain), Regis Chakabva (wicket-keeper), Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Tony Munyonga, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Richard Ngarava, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani.

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Melblourne Cricket Ground
Start time: 0800 hrs GMT
Match officials: Richard Kettleborough, Rod Tucker (On-field Umpires); Aleem Dar (TV Umpire); Chris Brown (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022