< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: South Africa blow away Bangladesh at SCG

Rossouw celebrates his hundred
Rossouw celebrates his hundred
Quinton de Kock and Tabraiz Shamsi celebrate
Quinton de Kock and Tabraiz Shamsi celebrate

South Africa registered a massive 104 run win over Bangladesh in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Group 2 clash at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Thursday afternoon.

After opting to bat, South Africa posted 205 for five in their 20 overs and in their response Bangladesh was bowled out for 101 in 16.3 overs.

Earlier, South Africa was well served by a 168 run second wicket stand between Quinton de Kock and Rilee Rossouw. The pair completely dismantled Bangladesh's feeble bowling as they struck boundaries at will. de Kock fell for 63 off 38 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. Rossouw carried on as he made 109 off 56 balls with seven boundaries and eight sixes. This was the first hundred of this year's T20 World Cup. South Africa lost momentum towards the end and hence finished on 205 for five in their 20 overs. For Bangladesh their best bowler was Shakib Al Hasan (2-33).

In their response, Bangladesh lost wickets at regular intervals. They could not get any partnership going. Only Litton Das (34) tried to hold the innings together but he received no support. Only three other batters Soumya Sarkar (15), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (11) and Taskin Ahmed (10) got into double figures. In the end South Africa was just too dominant as Bangladesh was shot out for 101 in 16.3 overs. For South Africa the best bowlers were Anrich Nortje (4-10) and Tabraiz Shamsi (3-20). 

Match Summary
South Africa: 205-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Temba Bavuma-0.6 ov), 2-170 (Quinton de Kock-14.3 ov), 3-180 (Tristan Stubbs-16.1 ov), 4-197 (Rilee Rossouw-18.3 ov), 5-204 (Aiden Markram-19.4 ov)

Bangladesh: 101 (16.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Soumya Sarkar-2.1 ov), 2-27 (Najmul Hossain Shanto-2.4 ov), 3-39 (Shakib Al Hasan-4.4 ov), 4-47 (Afif Hossain-5.5 ov), 5-66 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz-9.4 ov), 6-71 (Mosaddek Hossain-10.4 ov), 7-76 (Nurul Hasan-11.6 ov), 8-85 (Litton Das-13.4 ov), 9-89 (Hasan Mahmud-14.5 ov), 10-101 (Taskin Ahmed-16.3 ov) 


Playing XI
Bangladesh: Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Match Details
Toss: South Africa, elected to bat
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground
Start time: 0300 hrs GMT
Match officials: Langton Rusere, Rod Tucker (On-field Umpires); Ahsan Raza (TV Umpire); Michael Gough (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)