< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: South Africa outclass West Indies to register fine win

South Africa made a fine return in the ICC T20 World Cup as they beat West Indies by eight wickets in a Super 12 Group 1 match at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday.

Earlier, after being asked to bat West Indies posted 143 for eight in their 20 overs and South Africa chased down the target in 18.2 overs to finish on 144 for two.

West Indies started off cautiously at first through openers Evin Lewis and Lendl Simmons. Lewis broke free striking 56 off 35 balls with three boundaries and six sixes. Then thereafter the innings went into slow mode. The batsmen struggled to get going as West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals. A 32 run fourth wicket stand between Chris Gayle and captain Kieron Pollard tried to revive the innings, but it was not enough. Towards the end West Indies did not finish in a flourish as they finished on 143 for eight.

For South Africa the best bowler was Dwaine Pretorius (3-17) and supporting him well was left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj (2-24).

The chase for South Africa was fashioned at first by opener Reeza Hendricks and Rassie van der Dussen. This pair added 57 runs for the second wicket. That helped the innings to progress at the perfect pace towards the target. Later, a fine 83 run stand between Aiden Markram (51 n.o.: 26b, 2x4, 4x6) and van der Dussen (43 n.o.) carried South Africa to a win in the 19th over as they overhauled the target to finish on 144 for two. West Indies struggled to get going with the ball as none of their bowlers created any impact.

Earlier, South Africa made one change bringing in Reeza Hendricks in place of Quinton de Kock, while West Indies brought in leg-spinner Hayden Walsh in place of fast bowler Obed McCoy.

Match Summary

West Indies: 143-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-73 (Evin Lewis-10.3 ov), 2-87 (Nicholas Pooran-12.2 ov), 3-89 (Lendl Simmons-13.2 ov), 4-121 (Chris Gayle-17.1 ov), 5-132 (Andre Russell-18.2 ov), 6-133 (Shimron Hetmyer-18.4 ov), 7-137 (Kieron Pollard-19.2 ov), 8-137 (Hayden Walsh-19.3 ov)

South Africa: 144-2 (18.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Temba Bavuma-0.6 ov), 2-61 (Reeza Hendricks-9.2 ov)

Result: South Africa won by eight wickets


Playing XI
South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma (captain), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen (wicket-keeper), Dwayne Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

West Indies: Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh, Ravi Rampaul

Match Details
Toss: South Africa, elected to field
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Aleem Dar, Paul Reiffel (On-field umpires); Chris Brown (TV Umpire); Chris Gaffaney (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)