< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Sri Lanka demolish Netherlands to enter Super 12 on a high

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka demolished Netherlands by eight wickets to enter the Super 12 Stage of the ICC T20 World Cup on a high.

Earlier at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Netherlands after being asked to bat were shot out for 44 in 10 overs and Sri Lanka chased down the target in just 45 for two to finish on 7.1 overs in a Group A clash.

Netherlands lost wickets at regular intervals with no real partnerships of note. The Sri Lankan bowlers were all over the Netherlands batting line-up. The mystery spinners Maheesh Theekshana (2-3) and Wanindu Hasaranga (3-9) were terrific as they bamboozled Netherlands happless batsmen. The other wicket-takers for Sri Lanka were Lahiru Kumara (3-7) and Dushmantha Chameera (1-13). Only one batsman Colin Ackermann entered double figures. This wa sixth lowest team total in T20 Internationals. Netherlands' previous lowest total in T20s was 39 also against Sri Lanka.

The chase for Sri Lanka was very easy as Kusal Perera starred with an unbeaten 33 off 24 balls with six boundaries. There was nothing much Netherlands could do as they had a very small total to manage. In the end Sri Lanka finished on 45 for two in just 7.1 overs to enter the Super 12 stage on a high.

Sri Lanka made one change to their line-up bringing in Chairth Asalanka for Dinesh Chandimal. Netherlands made three changes as they left out even the experienced Ryan ten Doeschate.

Match Summary

Netherlands: 44 (10)

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Max O'Dowd-0.4 ov), 2-19 (Ben Cooper-2.3 ov), 3-20 (Stephan Myburgh-2.5 ov), 4-31 (Colin Ackermann-4.3 ov), 5-32 (Bas de Leede-4.6 ov), 6-37 (Roelof van der Merwe-5.5 ov), 7-40 (Pieter Seelaar-6.6 ov), 8-44 (Scott Edwards-9.1 ov), 9-44 (Brandon Glover-9.3 ov), 10-44 (Paul van Meekeren-9.6 ov)

Sri Lanka: 45-2 (7.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Pathum Nissanka-1.3 ov), 2-31 (Charith Asalanka-5.4 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by eight wickets


Playing XIs

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera (wicket-keeper), Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara

Netherlands: Max O'Dowd, Stephan Myburgh, Ben Cooper, Colin Ackerman, Bas de Leede, Scott Edwards (wicket-keeper), Roelof van der Merwe, Pieter Seelar (captain), Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Brandon Glover

Match Details

Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Joel Wilson, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Aleem Dar (TV Umpire); Chris Brown (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021