< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Stoinis blast brings Australia back into reckoning

Australia roared back to form in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup with a comprehensive seven-wicket win over Sri Lanka in a Group 1 clash at the Perth Stadium on Tuesday night.

Asked to bat, Sri Lanka posted 157 for six in their 20 overs and in response Australia chased down the target in 16.3 overs to finish on 158 for three.

Earlier, Sri Lanka was well served by a 69 run second wicket stand between Pathum Nissanka (40) and Dhananjaya de Silva. Post that Nissanka fell with the score on 97. Then Charith Asalanka took charge of the innings as he finished unbeaten on 38 off 25 balls. Asalanka batted even as wickets fell around him. In the end Sri Lanka finished on 157 for six in their 20 overs. For Australia the wickets were shared.

In their response Australia slowed down. They were at one stage not able to get the ball off the square. It required a mature innings from their captain Aaron Finch to pull them out of a mess. Finch remained unbeaten on 31 off 42 balls with just one six. Mitchell Marsh and Glenn Maxwell did use their long handle to good effect. But Australia was reduced to 89 for three. Then Marcus Stoinis struck an unbeaten 59 off just 18 balls with four boundaries and six sixes to seal the deal. Stoinis added 69 runs for the fourth wicket with Finch. Australia chased down the target in 16.3 overs to finish on 158 for three. 

Match Summary
Sri Lanka: 157-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Kusal Mendis-1.5 ov), 2-75 (Dhananjaya de Silva-11.3 ov), 3-97 (Pathum Nissanka-13.3 ov), 4-106 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-14.5 ov), 5-111 (Dasun Shanaka-15.6 ov), 6-120 (Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva-17.3 ov)

Australia: 158-3 (16.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-26 (David Warner-4.1 ov), 2-60 (Mitchell Marsh-8.3 ov), 3-89 (Glenn Maxwell-12.2 ov)


Playing XIs

Australia: Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), David Warner, Aaron Finch (captain), Mitchell Marsh, Tim David, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins

Sri Lanka: Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando

Match Details
Toss: Australia, elected to field
Venue: Perth Stadium
Start time: 1100 hrs GMT
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Aleem Dar (Reserve Umpire); Andy Pycroft (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022