< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Theekshana spins Sri Lanka to an easy win

Sri Lanka made a confident start to their campaign in the T20 World Cup with a seven-wicket win over Namibia in a Group A clash at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

On Monday night, Namibia after being asked to bat was packed off for 96 in 19.3 overs and in response, Sri Lanka chased down the target in 13.3 overs to finish on 100 for three.

Earlier, Namibia's struggling innings recovered through a 39 run third wicket between Craig Williams and captain Gerhard Erasmus. But thereafter, the innings went into a tail spin and the rest of the batsmen offered no resistance. Sri Lanka's bowling was accurate and penetrative as they blew the Namibian batting apart. For Sri Lanka the key wicket-taker was Maheesh Theekshana (3-25) along side Lahiru Kumara (2-9) and Wanindu Hasaranga (2-24).

The chase for Sri Lanka did not start of well as they were reduced to 26 for three. Then a 74 run stand between Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksa for the fourth wicket sealed the chase for Sri Lanka. They managed to ward off any further issues as they saw off a spirited Namibia in a modest chase. Sri Lanka overhauled the target in 13.3 overs.

Match Summary

Namibia: 96 (19.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Stephan Baard-2.1 ov), 2-29 (Zane Green-5.4 ov), 3-68 (Gerhard Erasmus-12.2 ov), 4-73 (Craig Williams-13.3 ov), 5-79 (David Wiese-14.3 ov), 6-84 (Jan Frylinck-15.4 ov), 7-90 (Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton-17.3 ov), 8-93 (Ruben Trumpelmann-18.3 ov), 9-96 (Pikky Ya France-19.1 ov), 10-96 (Bernard Scholtz-19.3 ov)

Sri Lanka: 100-3 (13.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Kusal Perera-1.5 ov), 2-18 (Pathum Nissanka-2.6 ov), 3-26 (Dinesh Chandimal-5.1 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by seven wickets


Playing XI
Namibia: Stephan Baard, Zane Green (wicket-keeper), Craig Williams, Gerhard Erasmus (captain), David Wiese, Pikky Ya France, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera (wicket-keeper), Pathum Nissanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara

Match Details
Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Adrian Holdstock, Paul Reiffel (On-field Umpires); Rod Tucker (TV Umpire); Marais Erasmus (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021