< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Trumpelmann fires Namibia to a win over Scotland

Namibia started their campaign in fantastic style as they registered a four-wicket win over Scotland in the ICC T20 World Cup Super 12 Group 2 clash.

At Abu Dhabi's Zayed Cricket Stadium, Scotland after being asked to bat posted a modest 109 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response Namibia chased down the target with five balls to spare to finish on 115 for six.

Earlier, Scotland's innings did not take off as they lost three wickets in the very first over of the match. Left-arm fast bowler Ruben Trumpelmann struck regularly in the first over to reduce Scotland to two for three wickets. George Munsey Calum MacLeod and stand-in captain Richie Berrington fell in the first over. From there Scotland never recovered. There was a brief recovery through Michael Leask (44: 27b, 4x4, 2x6) and Chris Greaves (25). The pair added 36 runs for the sixth wicket, but it was too little too late. The innings ended on a paltry 109 for eight in their 20 overs.

For Namibia the best bowlers were Trumpelmann (3-17) and Jan Frylinck (2-10).

The chase for Namibia was one where they stuttered all along. Veteran opener Craig Williams heldd the innings together for a while after a brisk start by his partner Michael van Lingen. But thereafter they lost wickets regularly. They went from being 50 for one to 67 for four. A fine fifth wicket stand worth 35 between JJ Smit and David Wiese calmed the nerves. But then there was another brief excitement as Wiese and Frylinck fell in quick succession. Namibia finally overhauled the target in the 20th over to finish on 115 for six with five balls and four wickets to spare.

Earlier, Scotland captain Kyle Coetzer had to sit out of the game with a finger injury. Berrington took over as the stand-in captain. Meanwhile, Scotland made another change with Craig Wallace coming in to the playing XI. 

Match Summary
Scotland: 109-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (George Munsey-0.1 ov), 2-2 (Calum MacLeod-0.3 ov), 3-2 (Richie Berrington-0.4 ov), 4-18 (Craig Wallace-5.3 ov), 5-57 (Matthew Cross-11.1 ov), 6-93 (Michael Leask-16.2 ov), 7-99 (Mark Watt-18.1 ov), 8-109 (Chris Greaves-19.6 ov)

Namibia: 115-6 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Michael van Lingen-5.3 ov), 2-50 (Zane Green-9.1 ov), 3-61 (Gerhard Erasmus-11.2 ov), 4-67 (Craig Williams-12.3 ov), 5-102 (David Wiese-17.4 ov), 6-109 (Jan Frylinck-18.4 ov)

Result: Namibia won by four wickets


Playing XI
Scotland: George Munsey, Craig Wallace, Calum MacLeod, Richie Berrington (captain), Matthew Cross (wicket-keeper), Michael Leask, Chris Greaves, Mark Watt, Josh Davey, Safyaan Sharif, Brad Wheal

Namibia: Craig Williams, Zane Green (wicket-keeper), Gerhard Erasmus (captain), David Wiese, Michael van Lingen, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Pikky Ya France, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz

Match details
Toss: Namibia, elected to field
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1800 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Adrian Holdstock, Rod Tucker (On-field umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Langton Rusere (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath)