< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: West Indies register first win of the tournament

West Indies beat Bangladesh by mere three runs to register their first win in the ICC T20 World Cup at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday afternoon.

West Indies after being asked to bat posted 142 for seven and Bangladesh failed to chase down the target to finish on 139 for five in 20 overs.

Earlier, after being asked to bat West Indies struggled all the way through.The only man to hold the innings together was debutant Roston Chase who made 39 off 46 balls. The West Indies innings slipped to 32 for three. Then there was a 30 run stand between Chase and captain Kieron Pollard for the fourth wicket. But Pollard had to retire hurt and the innings got a bit of momentum. Nicholas Pooran came in and batted with intent. Pooran scored 40 off 22 balls with four sixes and one boundary. Pooran added 57 for the fifth wicket with Chase. Then in the last over Pollard returned with Jason Holder. West Indies scored 19 runs in the final over to finish on 142 for seven in their 20 overs.

Jason Holder speaks about the West Indies first win of the tournament 

© ICC / T20 World Cup

Mahedi Hasan finished with figures of two for 27. The other bowlers to show some good performances were Shoriful Islam (2-20). Mustafizur Rahman finished on two for 43 and was a touch on the expensive side.

In their chase Bangladesh promoted Shakib Al Hasan to open, but their innings went into a tail spin early on. Bangladesh's innings slipped to 60 for three. Liton Das held the innings together with a 43 ball 44 with four boundaries. Das shared a 40 run fifth wicket stand with captain Mahmudullah. But the asking rate kept creeping up and the West Indies bowlers kept up the pressure. The going got tough for Bangladesh, Mahmudullah tried very hard to control the chase. In the end Mahmudullah could not take his side across the line as they ended on 139 for five, three runs short of the target.

For West Indies all the bowlers shared wickets around and kept up the pressure.

Earlier, bot sides made two changes apiece. West Indies brought in Chase and Holder in place of Lendl Simmons and Hayden Walsh. Bangladesh brought in Soumya Sarkar and Taskin Ahmed for Nurul Hasan and Nasum Ahmed.

Match Summary

West Indies: 142-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Evin Lewis-2.6 ov), 2-18 (Chris Gayle-4.2 ov), 3-32 (Shimron Hetmyer-6.4 ov), 4-62 (Andre Russell-12.4 ov), 5-119 (Nicholas Pooran-18.1 ov), 6-119 (Roston Chase-18.2 ov), 7-123 (Dwayne Bravo-19.1 ov)

Bangladesh: 139-5
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Shakib Al Hasan-4.3 ov), 2-29 (Mohammad Naim-5.4 ov), 3-60 (Soumya Sarkar-10.4 ov), 4-90 (Mushfiqur Rahim-13.3 ov), 5-130 (Liton Das-18.6 ov)

Result: West Indies won by three runs


Playing XI
West Indies: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Roston Chase, Nicholas Pooran (wicket-keeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Kieron Pollard (captain), Andre Russell, Jason Holder, Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das (wicket-keeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (captain), Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mahedi Hasan, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Match Details
Toss: Bangladesh, elected to field
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Adrian Holdstock, Rod Tucker (On-field umpires); Paul Reiffel (TV Umpire); Marais Erasmus (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)