< >
Cricket Betting us

ICC T20 WC: Wiese inspires Namibia to a fine win

David Wiese inspired Namibia to their first-ever win in the ICC T20 World Cup as his side beat Netherlands by six wickets on Wednesday afternoon.

At the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Netherlands after being asked to bat posted 166 for four in their 20 overs and in response Namibia chased down the target to finish on 166 for four in 19 overs.

Earlier, Netherlands rode on opener Max O'Dowd's 70 off 56 balls with six boundaries and a six. The opener held the innings together. O'Dowd shared a 82 run third wicket stand with Colin Ackermann (35). Towards the end Scott Edwards used the long handle to good effect as Netherlands ended on 164 for four in their 20 overs.

For Namibia Jan Frylinck was the best bowler with figures of two for 36.

In their response, Namibia was reduced to 52 for three. Then it required a 93 run fourth wicket stand between captain Gerhard Erasmus (32) and all-rounder Wiese (66 n.o.: 40b, 4x4, 5x6) which changed the course of the match. Wiese was particularly ruthless in the way he helped Namibia put their innings back on track. Namibia finished on 166 for four chasing down the target with six wickets to spare. Netherlands' journey in the T20 World Cup has virtually come to an end.

Match Summary
Netherlands: 164-4 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Stephan Myburgh-5.4 ov), 2-55 (Roelof van der Merwe-7.2 ov), 3-137 (Colin Ackermann-17.4 ov), 4-157 (Max O'Dowd-19.3 ov)

Namibia: 166-4 (19)
Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Zane Green-4.3 ov), 2-47 (Craig Williams-7.1 ov), 3-52 (Stephan Baard-8.2 ov), 4-145 (Gerhard Erasmus-16.5 ov)

Result: Namibia won by six wickets 


Playing XI
Netherlands: Max O'Dowd, Stephan Myburg, Roelof van der Merwe, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Ryan ten Doeschate, Scott Edwards (wicket-keeper), Pieter Seelaar (captain), Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen

Namibia: Stephan Baard, Zane Green (wicket-keeper), Craig Williams, Gerhard Erasmus (captain), David Wiese, JJ Smit, Michael van Lingen, Jan Frylinck, Loftie-Eaton, Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz

Match Details
Toss: Namibia, elected to field
Venue: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Start time: 1400 hrs UAE time
Match officials: Langton Rusere, Michael Gough (On-field umpires); Nitin Menon (TV Umpire); Paul Wilson (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)