< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Williamson leads from the front as New Zealand march ahead

New Zealand booked its place in the semi-final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup with a 35 run win over Ireland in its last Group 1 clash at the Adelaide Oval on Friday.

 After being asked to bat, New Zealand posted 185 for six in their 20 overs and in their response Ireland finished on 150 for nine in their 20 overs.

Earlier, New Zealand got off to a steady start as their openers Finn Allen and Devon Conway put on 52. Then Conway added a further 44 runs with skipper Kane Williamson. After Conway fell for 28, Williamson carried the innings forward. Williamson steadied the ship first in the company of Glenn Phillips. Then he added a further 60 runs for the fourth wicket with Daryl Mitchell. Williamson fell for 61 off 35 balls with five boundaries and three sixes. After Williamson fell to Josh Little, James Neesham and Mitchell Santner followed soon after to hand the Irish bowler his first T20I hat-trick. This was the second hat-trick of this tournament. Ireland finished on 185 for six in their 20 overs. For Ireland, the best bowler was Gareth Delany (2-30).

In their response Ireland started off well with captain Andy Balbirnie and Paul Stirling adding 68. But once Balbirnie fell for 30, the innings lost shape. Ireland went from 68 for no loss to 73 for three. Then the innings lost momentum as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. George Dockrell did try to take control of the chase, but he found no support whatsoever. The two New Zealand spinners bowled well and broke the back of Ireland. In the end Ireland finished on 150 for nine in their 20 overs. For New Zealand the best bowlers were Lockie Ferguson (3-22), Tim Southee (2-29), Mitchell Santner (2-26) and Ish Sodhi (2-31). 

Match Summary
New Zealand: 185-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-52 (Finn Allen-5.5 ov), 2-96 (Devon Conway-11.2 ov), 3-114 (Glenn Phillips-13.1 ov), 4-174 (Kane Williamson-18.2 ov), 5-174 (James Neesham-18.3 ov), 6-174 (Mitchell Santner-18.4 ov)

Ireland: 150-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Andy Balbirnie-8.1 ov), 2-70 (Paul Stirling-9.1 ov), 3-73 (Harry Tector-10.3 ov), 4-94 (Gareth Delany-13.1 ov), 5-102 (Lorcan Tucker-14.4 ov), 6-120 (Curtis Campher-16.3 ov), 7-131 (Fionn Hand-17.3 ov), 8-132 (George Dockrell-17.5 ov), 9-141 (Mark Adair-19.1 ov) 


Playing XI
Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andy Balbirnie (captain), Lorcan Tucker (wicket-keeper), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Fionn Hand, Barry McCarthy, Josh Little.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Kane Williamson (captain), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson

Match Details
Toss: Ireland, elected to field
Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Start time: 0400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Kumar Dharmasena, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Aleem Dar (TV Umpire); Adrian Holdstock (Reserve Umpire)l Ranjan Madugalle (Match-refere)

© Cricket World

Points Table