ICC Women's World Cup schedule unveiled

England Women will begin their tournament taking on India
England Women will begin their tournament taking on India

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the schedule for the upcoming ICC Women's World Cup 2017 to be held in England in June and July.

The tournament will begin with a double header on 24th June with New Zealand taking on Sri Lanka in Bristol while hosts England will lock horns with India in Derby.

Defending champions Australia will begin their title defence with West Indies in Taunton on 26th June while Pakistan and South Africa kick start their tournament on 25th June in Leicester.

The tournament will feature 28 games in the group stage that will be played between 24th June and 15th July. The top four teams from the single league format will feature in the two semi finals which will be played in Bristol and Derby on 18th and 20th July respectively.

The final of the tournament will be played at Lord's on 23rd July.

ICC chief executive Dave Richardson believes the women's game is gaining a wide recognition and is confident of another successful tournament in England.

“We are anticipating an exciting tournament and I know the players are looking forward to competing here in front of unprecedented levels of support. We’ve already sold 9000 tickets for the final at Lord’s which bodes well for the rest of the event going on sale today.

"I know we can always count on the British sport loving public to support big events.

"After the extremely successful qualifying tournament in Sri Lanka last month, we can already see that there will be some fiercely contested fixtures as the standard and competitiveness of women’s cricket continues to rise.”

Australia, New Zealand, England and West Indies were given automatic qualification for the tournament based on their performances in ICC Women's Championship while India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan secured their qualification through the recently concluded qualifier tournament held in Colombo.

© Cricket World 2017