ICC Women's WT20 Qualifier 2015 schedule unveiled

Zimbabwe Women warming up
Zimbabwe are one of the eight sides trying to qualify for next year's ICC Women's World T20 in India
©International Cricket Council

The International Cricket Council has confirmed that Thailand will host the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier later this year as two sides fight to qualify for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 in India in 2016.

ICC Women's World T20 Qualifier 2015

Group A: Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, Thailand, Scotland

Group B: China, Ireland, Netherlands, Zimbabwe

Venues: Thailand Cricket Ground (TCG) and Asian Institute of Technology Ground (AIT)


Saturday 28th November: Thailand v Bangladesh, TCG (1000-1245); Ireland v Netherlands, AIT (1000-1245); PNG v Scotland, TCG (1345-1630); China v Zimbabwe, AIT (1345-1630)

Sunday 29th November: China v Ireland, TCG (1000-1245); Scotland v Bangladesh, AIT (1000-1245); Zimbabwe v Netherlands, TCG (1345-1630); Thailand v PNG, AIT (1345-1630)

Tuesday 1st December: Thailand v Scotland, TCG (1000-1245); Bangladesh v PNG, AIT (1000-1245); Zimbabwe v Ireland, TCG (1345-1630); Netherlands, China, AIT (1345-1630)

Thursday 3rd December: Trophy semi-final 1 (A1 v B2) (1000-1245), TCG; Shield semi-final 1 (A3 v B4), AIT (1000-1245); Trophy semi-final 2 (B1 v A2), TCG (1345-1630); Shield semi-final 2 (B3 v A4), AIT (1345-1630)

Saturday 5th December: Trophy third/fourth place play-off, TCG (1000-1245); Shield third/fourth place play-off, AIT (1000-1245); Trophy final, TCG (1345-1630); Shield final, AIT (1345-1630)

Eight sides will vie for the two remaining places with the tournament taking place between 28th November and 5th December in Bangkok.

The two finalists will join reigning champions Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies in the ICC Women's World Twenty20 in India, which will run alongside the men's event from 11th March to 3rd April next year.

While those eight sides qualified directly by finishing in the top eight of the tournament in Bangladesh in 2014, Bangladesh and Ireland, who finished in ninth and 10th, will join six sides in the qualifier.

Hosts Thailand are also joined by China, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland and Zimbabwe who qualifed through regional tournaments.

The teams have been split into two groups of four with the top two sides in each group advancing to the Trophy semi-finals and the bottom two going to the Shield semi-finals.

The two sides that win the Trophy semi-finals will play for overall tournament glory and both will qualify for India 2016.

"The announcement of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 schedule is great news as the eight sides can now start their focused planning and preparations," ICC Women's Committee Chair and former England captain Clare Connor said.
"It will be fascinating to see how this next tier of international teams compete against one another.

"This event will provide an opportunity to the Cricket Association of Thailand (CAT) to promote and market the game in its territory, an opportunity which will highlight the truly global appeal of the women's game."

© Cricket World 2015