< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Match 10 - West Indies vs Papua New Guinea

Shimron Hetmyer had an impressive outing against UAE
Shimron Hetmyer had an impressive outing against UAE

Game: 10th Match, Group A, West Indies vs Papua New Guinea
Venue: Old Hararians Sports Club, Harare
Timings: 07:30 AM GMT / 09:30 AM Local

With defeats in both their games, Papua New Guinea will be desperate to keep their hope alive when they face two-time World Champions West Indies in the 10th game of the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 at Old Hararians Sports Club.

Despite a shaky start in the warm-ups, West Indies showed what they are capable of in the game against United Arab Emirates. Chris Gayle and Shimron Hetmyer both smashed centuries with the latter even smashing 11 centuries as they dominated the proceedings. Evin Lewis at the top can be equally dangerous and with the likes of Marlon Samuels and Jason Mohammed forming the middle order. Shai Hope looked good during his 35-run knock before a sore knee forced him to leave the field. Jason Holder showed his skills with a five-fer while the bowling possess flexibility with Sheldon Cottrell, Kemar Roach, Ashley Nurse and Nikita Miller in their ranks.

Tony Ura singlehandedly with his 151-run knock kept Papua New Guinea in the game against Ireland and from being 80 for six, they went on to post 235 but the rest of the batting hardly showed any resilience in both the games. Having lost both their games so far, another defeat on Thursday can very well end their hopes in the tournament They will be hoping to regroup and pose an unlikely challenge to the men from the Caribbean.

Head to Head Record:

This will be the first time these two teams will be facing each other in an ODI.


West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams.

Papua New Guinea: Assadollah Vala (captain), Charles Amini, Sese Bau, Mahuru Dai, Kiplin Doriga, Jason Kila, Vani Morea, Alei Nao, Damien Ravu, John Reva, Lega Siaka, Chad Soper, Tony Ura, Norman Vanua, Jack Vare

© Cricket World 2018