< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Match 14 - Papua New Guinea v Netherlands - Preview

Rob van der Merwe will be a key player for Netherlands
Rob van der Merwe will be a key player for Netherlands

Game: 14th Match, Group A, Papua New Guinea v Netherlands
Venue: Old Hararians Sports Club, Harare
Timings: 07:30 AM GMT / 09:30 AM Local

Netherlands will be hoping to keep their ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 campaign alive when they face Papua New Guinea in the 14th game of the tournament in Harare on Saturday.

Papua New Guinea have already lost an option on the Super Six stage after losing all their three games. They had their moments in the tournament with Tony Ura sparkling with a 151-run knock against Ireland and despite Jason Holder rattling them for 200 in the previous game against West Indies, the bowlers showed tremendous fightback in keeping the Caribbean side in check and at one stage the two-time World Champions were reeling at 58 for four before Holder once again contributed with an unbeaten 99 to end Papua New Guinea's hopes. With the pressure of qualification to next round all but over, Papua New Guinea will look to express themselves and spoil other team's party.

Netherlands like PNG are the second team in Group A, who are yet to win a game. However, they have an additional game in hand and still are in with a slim chance, provided they win all their remaining games. On both the occasions, it was their batting that let them down. With the top order looking shaky, Rob van der Merwe and Ryan ten Doeschate were unable to carry the responsibility as they posted just 149 and 176 in both their games. Their inability to handle the pace bowlers was evident with Rohan Mustafa claiming a five wicket haul to keep the Netherlands in check.


Netherlands: Wesley Barresi, Max ODowd, Ben Cooper, Ryan ten Doeschate, Peter Borren (captain), Roelof van der Merwe, Scott Edwards(w), Pieter Seelaar, Timm van der Gugten, Paul van Meekeren, Vivian Kingma, Fred Klaassen, Bas de Leede, Sikander Zulfiqar, Shane Snater

Papua New Guinea : Tony Ura, Vani Morea, Assad Vala (captain), Lega Siaka, Sese Bau, Mahuru Dai, Charles Amini, Jack Vare(w), Chad Soper, Norman Vanua, Alei Nao, Kiplin Doriga, Jason Kila, Damien Ravu, John Reva

© Cricket World 2018