< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Match 15 - Zimbabwe v Hong Kong - Preview

Blessing Muzarabani had an impressive game against Afghanistan
Blessing Muzarabani had an impressive game against Afghanistan

Game: 15th match, Group B, Zimbabwe v Hong Kong
Venue: Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo
Timings: 07:30 AM GMT, 09:30 AM Local

Zimbabwe will be aiming to seal a place in the Super Six when they take on Hong Kong in the 15th game of the ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Bulawayo.

The home side looked a different unit in the tournament and have set aside off-field issues. They started with a huge win over Nepal but the way they fought back and edged out Afghanistan in their second game would have given them more confidence. Their batting looked fragile against Afghanistan but once again Sikandar Raza exhibited another classy knock to go with his century in the opening game. Brendan Taylor's return back to Zimbabwe has benefitted them as seen in the two games where he scored a ton and 89 as he and Raza have been pivotal to the side's chances. Brian Vitori's suspension is sure to hurt the side but Blessing Muzarabani's form is a huge boost to go with spin options of Graeme Cremer and Raza.

Hong Kong will be boosted by their convincing win against Afghanistan in their previous game. The way they tackled a quality bowling opposition like Afghanistan will keep them in good stead when they face Zimbabwe. Much of the credit will go to Anshuman Rath, who was partially supported by skipper Babar Hayat and in the end it was the cameo from Tanwir Afzal that saw them post a respectable total of 241. Nadeem Ahmed has been consistent with the ball while Ehsan Khan impressed with a match-winning performance of a four-wicket haul against Rashid Khan's men. Another win here will certainly increase their morale heading into the final round of the group stage.


Zimbabwe: Cephas Zhuwawo, Solomon Mire, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (wk), Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Graeme Cremer (captain), Richard Ngarava, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chisoro

Hong Kong: Nizakat Khan, Aizaz Khan, Ehsan Khan, Babar Hayat (captain), Anshuman Rath, Scott McKechnie (wk), Shahid Wasif, Waqas Barkat, Tanwir Afzal, Ehsan Nawaz, Nadeem Ahmed, Simandeep Singh, Tanveer Ahmed, Christopher Carter, Ahsan Abbasi

© Cricket World 2018