< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Match 19 - Hong Kong v Nepal - Preview

Babar Hayat will be looking to lead from the front
Babar Hayat will be looking to lead from the front

Game: 19th Match, Group B, Hong Kong v Nepal
Venue: Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo
Timings: 07:30 AM GMT / 09:30 AM Local

Hong Kong will have all to play for with an eye on qualification to Super Six when they face Nepal in the final Group B encounter of the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 in Bulawayo.

The equation is simple for Babar Hayat's men. Their emphatic win against Afghanistan meant they need to just beat their Asian rival on Monday and if they are to emerge victorious they need to sort out of the batting issues. Anshuman Rath has been their mainstay with half-centuries in the two of the three games they played and will be hoping for the likes of Hayat and Nizakat Khan to step up in the crucial encounter. Ehsan Nawaz and Ehsan Khan have been consistent for them with the ball and will look to maintain their good form.

Nepal had their moments of brilliance in the tournament but never was able to capitalise on it and as a result, are now languishing at the bottom of the table after losing all the three games. Paras Khadka scored 40, 63 and 75 in the three games and he will need support from his team-mates to prevent Hong Kong from progressing to the next round. Their ace bowler Sandeep Lamichhane has never looked threatening adding to their woes. They will look to sign off from the tournament with a win.

Qualification Scenario:

Hong Kong: Their inferior net-run-rate means they need to win the game against Nepal to go to the next round leaving Afghanistan out of the tournament.

Afghanistan: A win for Nepal will mean Afghanistan will progress to the Super Six with a better net-run-rate.


Hong Kong: Gyanendra Malla, Dilip Nath (wk), Paras Khadka (captain), Dipendra Singh Airee, Sharad Vesawkar, Aarif Sheikh, Sompal Kami, Rohit Kumar, Basant Regmi, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Shakti Gauchan, KC Karan, Lalit Bhandari, Anil Sah

Nepal: Paras Khadka (captain), Gyanendra Malla, Shakti Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami, KC Karan, Aarif Sheikh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Dilip Nath, Lalit Bhandari, Anil Sah, Rohit Kumar, Lalit Rajbanshi

© Cricket World 2018