ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Match 2 - Ireland v Netherlands - Preview

Peter Borren posing with the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 trophy
Peter Borren posing with the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 trophy

Ireland will hold the edge when they face Netherlands in the second game of the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 at Old Hararians Sports Club on Sunday.

The Dutch went on to win the World Cricket League Championship as they became the first of the Associate team to seal a berth in the Qualifiers. With Ryan ten Doeschate back and Roelof van der Merwe playing with them for quite a while, they will be hoping for a solid start from the top order. Their campaign though suffered a bit of setback with Stephan Myburgh ruled out due to injury and was replaced by Bas de Leede. They are also a team brimming with confidence after defeating Hong Kong comfortably in the warm-up and also got off to a promising start against Afghanistan before rain abandoned the game.

Ireland are among the favourites to finish in the top two if not even win the tournament. With William Porterfield, Ed Joyce, Paul Stirling and Niall O'Brien the batting looks solid at the top while Andrew Balbirnie is also a player to watch out for. They will be hoping for Kevin O'Brien to find form with both bat and the ball with the pace department looks in the safe hands of Tim Murtagh, Barry McCarthy, Boyd Rankin and Peter Chase and George Dockrell has been a consistent performer for them with the ball.

Head to Head Record:

Ireland clearly hold the advantage with seven wins from the 10 ODIs these two teams have met previously.


Netherlands: Peter Borren (captain), Wesley Barresi, Ben Cooper, Scott Edwards, Vivian Kingma, Frederick Klaassen, Bas de Leede, Maxwell O'Dowd, Pieter Seelaar, Shane Snater, Ryan ten Doeschate, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, Sikander Zulfiqar.

Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Boyd Rankin, James Shannon, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling and Gary Wilson

© Cricket World 2018