< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Match 20 - Zimbabwe vs Scotland - Preview

Can Scotland find ways to stop Sikandar Raza?
Can Scotland find ways to stop Sikandar Raza?

Game: 20th Match, Group B, Zimbabwe v Scotland
Venue: Bulawayo Athletic Club, Bulawayo
Timings: 07:30 AM GMT / 09:30 AM Local

The top position in Group B will be at stake when Zimbabwe and Scotland lock horns with each other in the 20th game of the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 in Bulawayo.

Zimbabwe are among the top contenders to finish in top two going by the form in the group stage. They started their campaign with a 116-run triumph but the real confidence boost came in the game against Afghanistan which they made a tremendous comeback to edge them out by two runs and the 89-run victory against Hong Kong in their previous game all but ensured their qualification to Super Six. Brendan Taylor is already the leading run-scorer in the tournament with a game in hand while Sikandar Raza is at number three shows how the duo have contributed to Zimbabwe's progress. Not to forget Raza is also the second in leading wicket-taker with nine scalps from three games. When both had an off day with the bat against Hong Kong, it was Hamilton Masakadza, who stepped up to help the home side post a respectable total.

Scotland like Zimbabwe are unbeaten in the tournament and the seven wicket win against Afghanistan set their campaign on track. They will be little concerned about finishing the innings especially chasing low scores as they suffered a scare against Hong Kong losing six wickets in a chase of 92 runs and even against Nepal, they were in a spot of bother chasing 150 but skipper Kyle Coetzer showed a lot of maturity and saw the team through with an unbeaten 88 run knock.

Qualification Scenarios:

Both teams have already made it to the Super Six but a win here can put them at the top of Group B.


Zimbabwe: Cephas Zhuwawo, Solomon Mire, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (wk), Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Graeme Cremer (captain), Richard Ngarava, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chisoro

Scotland: Kyle Coetzer (captain), Richie Berrington, Matthew Cross, Ali Evans, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Tom Sole, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal and Stuart Whittingham

© Cricket World 2018