< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Match 9 - Netherlands vs United Arab Emirates - Preview

UAE have won and lost a game apiece
UAE have won and lost a game apiece

Game: 9th Match, Group A, Netherlands v United Arab Emirates
Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare
Timings: 07:30 AM GMT / 09:30 AM Local

Both Netherlands and United Arab Emirates will be hoping to get their ICC World Cup Qualifiers campaign on track when they lock horns with each other in the 9th game of the tournament in Harare.

UAE started the tournament with a 56-run win over Papua New Guinea but were blown away by centuries from Chris Gayle and Shimron Hetmyer in the second game against West Indies. None of their bowlers made an impact against West Indies with only Mohammad Naveed with 5.89 had economy rate of under six. Though there are still some positives for the side when it came to the batting department with Rameez Shahzad scoring an unbeaten 112 while Shaiman Anwar also scored an impressive half-century but they will need to come with a collective all-round performance to keep their hopes of finishing in the top three.

Netherlands had an off day in the previous round which might help them overcome the heavy defeat against Ireland in the opening game. Timm van der Gugten's all-round performance was few of the positives, Netherlands managed to take from the game against William Porterfield's men and they will be hoping for their star performers Ryan ten Doeschate and Rob van der Merwe to make an impact.

Head to Head Record:

The two teams have met each other just one that came in 1996 which was won by UAE.


United Arab Emirates: Rohan Mustafa (captain), Ashfaq Ahmed, Ghulam Shabber, Rameez Shahzad, Mohammed Usman, Shaiman Anwar, Adnan Mufti, Mohammed Boota, Chirag Suri, Mohammed Naveed, Ahmed Raza, Imran Haider, Amir Hayat, Zahoor Khan, Qadeer Ahmed

Netherlands: Peter Borren (captain), Wesley Barresi, Ben Cooper, Scott Edwards, Vivian Kingma, Frederick Klaassen, Bas de Leede, Maxwell O'Dowd, Pieter Seelaar, Shane Snater, Ryan ten Doeschate, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, Sikander Zulfiqar

© Cricket World 2018