< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Nepal - Team Preview

Paras Khadka will be a key member for Nepal
Paras Khadka will be a key member for Nepal

Nepal will be hoping to make most of their qualification in the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 after they finished at the top of the table in World Cricket League Division Two.

With three wins from four games in the tournament, Nepal faced Canada in a must-win encounter and chasing 195, it was the 10th wicket unbeaten stand of 51 runs between Karan KC and Sandeep Lamichhane. Even though they lost the final to United Arab Emirates by seven runs, their heroics in the league stage proved enough for them to reach the ICC World Cup Qualifiers. They will once again pin their hopes on leg-spinner Lamichhane, who had 17 scalps from six games while Sompal Kami also had 10 wickets.

Skipper Paras Khadka was the only Nepal batsman to score a century in the World Cricket League and will be hoping to lead from the front as they look to make a mark at the international level.

Group: Nepal will have to deal with tournament favourites Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, Scotland and Hong Kong in Group B with top three teams progressing to the Super Six stage.


v Zimbabwe, Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo, 4th March
v Scotland, Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo, 8th March
v Afghanistan, Bulawayo Athletic Club, 10th March
v Hong Kong, Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo, 12th March


Paras Khadka (captain), Gyanendra Malla, Shakti Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami, KC Karan, Aarif Sheikh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Dilip Nath, Lalit Bhandari, Anil Sah, Rohit Kumar, Lalit Rajbanshi


Although Nepal have done extremely well to qualify for this Tournamanet, most World Cup Qualifiers predictions would be pointing at Zimbabwe or Afghanistan winning this Group. However, the fact that Nepal has qualified to play in this World Cup qualfying tournament, suggests that Nepal is here to stay at this level of World Cricket.

© Cricket World 2018