< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Scotland - Team Preview

Scotland will hope to carry forward their form from Division One of the World Cricket League
Scotland will hope to carry forward their form from Division One of the World Cricket League

Scotland will be hoping for their preparations count when they head into the ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 tournament.

Scotland finished second in the ICC World Cricket League Championship which was played between 2015 and 2017 behind Netherlands. They had a preparatory came in Pretoria to adjust to the warmer conditions they might encounter in Zimbabwe and will be hoping to repeat their achievement in 2014 where they won the Qualifiers in 2014. Hampshire seamers Brad Wheal and Chris Sole will join Safyaan Sharif, Stuart Whittingham and Alasdair Evans to form the pace attack.

The batting responsibility will lie on skipper Kyle Coetzer, Calum MacLeod and Richie Berrington but they will miss the services of Con de Lange due to a health trouble.

Coetzer believes Scotland have the right mix of players to take them to a distance in the tournament.

"We hope to be in a position by the end of the tournament to not only qualify for the World Cup but also defend our title from the previous qualifying campaign," Coetzer said.

"We have the depth within our squad to make this a reality and we will be raring to go when the opening game comes around."

Group: Scotland are positioned in Group B along with Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Nepal.


v Afghanistan, Bulawayo Athletic Club, 4th March
v Hong Kong, Bulawayo Athletic Club, 6th March
v Nepal, Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo, 8th March
v Zimbabwe, Bulawayo Athletic Club, 12th March


Kyle Coetzer (captain), Richie Berrington, Matthew Cross, Ali Evans, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Tom Sole, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal and Stuart Whittingham


Probably not going to make the play off Final with most World Cup Qualifiers predictions  pointing to Afghanistan or Zimbabwe winning this Group. 

© Cricket World 2018