< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018 - Super Sixes Match 4 - Ireland v Scotland Preview

Scotland are yet to lose a game in this tournament
Scotland are yet to lose a game in this tournament

Game: 4th Match, Super Sixes, Ireland v Scotland
Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare
Timings: 07:30 AM GMT / 09:30 AM Local

Ireland will be desperate to keep their World Cup hopes alive when they face an in-form Scotland side in the fourth match of the Super Sixes in the ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Harare.

A promising start to the tournament for Ireland was dented badly by a defeat to Windies in the Group Stage which meant they had to be an in-form Zimbabwe side to strengthen their position in the Super Six and they did well in reducing the hosts to 211 for nine. It could have turned even less had Sikandar Raza did not show resilence with an unbeaten 69 run knock. At the halfway stage, Ireland would have been fairly confident of chasing the target down but were exposed to their weakness in facing spin by Tendai Chisoro and Graeme Cremer as they were bowled out for 104. Ireland are currently at two points from three games and they need to win both the games convincingly to have an outside chance of finishing in top two.

Scotland have been impressive throughout the tournament. Their impressive run in the group stage saw them finish second in the table and they carry forwarded their momentum into the Super Sixes stage with an impressive 73 run victory over Hong Kong. If Callum MacLeod and Kyle Coetzer were heroes in the earlier games, it was Matthew Cross, who scored a sensation century in the opening game of the Super Sixes and their total of 322 for six was too much to handle for the Asian side. Chris Sole on his eighth ODI looked impressive while Safyaan Sharif and Bradley Wheal have continued to impress.

Head to Head Record: Ireland have a dominating record having won 14 out of the 19 ODIs played between the two teams with one ending in a no result.


Scotland: Matthew Cross (wk), Kyle Coetzer (captain), Calum MacLeod, Richie Berrington, George Munsey, Michael Leask, Craig Wallace, Safyaan Sharif, Mark Watt, Chris Sole, Bradley Wheal, Alasdair Evans, Michael Jones, Tom Sole, Stu Whittingham

Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie, Ed Joyce, Niall O Brien (wk), Kevin O Brien, Gary Wilson, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Boyd Rankin, Tim Murtagh, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, James Shannon, Simi Singh

© Cricket World 2018