< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

ICC World T20 2020 - EAP Qualifier Group A 2018 Squads and Fixtures

Papua New Guinea Celebrate a wicket

The big names of Pacific cricket will display their skills and talent this month in the Men’s ICC World T20 Qualifier – East Asia-Pacific Group ‘A’ on the happy isles of Fiji.

Suva will play host to Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Vanuatu, four of the best teams in the EAP region, with the tournament set to commence on Saturday August 25th.

The tournament will be a double round robin format with the top two teams at the end of the tournament proceeding to the ICC World T20 – EAP Regional Final to be played in 2019.

This tournament will be PNG’s first regional competition across all formats in four years and they will be looking to make an impact on their return and book their spot in the final to be played next year.

Vanuatu finished second behind PNG in the 2014 WT20 EAP Qualifier and will be looking to translate their recent one day success from the World Cricket League divisional tournaments to the shorter format.

Never to be underestimated, Samoa will be aiming to make an impression and cause some upsets in the tournament and like all other teams, qualify for the final.

Hosts Fiji, who will have home ground and home supporter advantage, have trailed PNG and Vanuatu recent years but are very much going into the Qualifier believing in their ability get back up the rankings in the EAP region and advance to the next stage of qualification.

Rob Gomm, the ICC’s Tournament Director, believes that the qualifier “is a great opportunity to promote and showcase the progress of global cricket development.”

“Cricket in the Pacific is increasing in profile, and this tournament is an opportunity for our members to not just play quality cricket, but also to promote the game in Fiji to the Fijian community.”

The tournament will commence on Saturday August 25th and conclude on Thursday August 30th. Live scores will be available on https://www.icc-cricket.com





Sekove Ravoka (captain), Kitione Tavo, Saimoni Tuitoga, Viliame Yabaki, Maciu Gauna, Seru Tupou, Jikoivanualevu Kida, Noa Acawei, Jone Valenikuila, Jikoibure Veikauyaki, Peni Vuniwaqa, Kushaal Ram, Riyad Khan, Jone Batinibulu



Assadollah Vala (captain), Charles Jordan Alewa Amini (vice-captain), Lega Siaka, Jason Kila, Tony Pala Ura, Sese Bau, Kipling Doriga, John Boge Reva, Nosaina Pokana, Alei Nao, Damien Ravu, Chad Aiwati Soper, Norman Vanua, Steven Eno



Faafetai Benjamin Mailata (captain), Lester Evile, Uala Taitoe Sililauga Kaisala, Maletino Lane Maiava, Fred Sapatu, Naamanu Seve Vaasili, Uili Toutai, Faafetaialealofa Vaaetasi, Andrew Joseph Michael, Dominic Peter Michael, Daniel Enese James Burgess, Sean Mikaele Solia, Pasi Kalosi



Andrew Mansale (captain), Jonathon Dunn (vice-captain), Patrick Matautaava, Jelany Chilia, Nalin Nipiko, Apolinaire Stephen, Joshua Rasu, Clement Tommy, Ronald Tari, Wesley Viraliliu, Williamsing Nalisa, Callum Blake, Jamal Vira, Wolford Kalworai


25/08/18             9:30am Fiji v Vanuatu and PNG v Samoa

                           1:30pm  Fiji v PNG and  Vanuatu v Samoa

26/08/18             1:30pm Fiji v Samoa and Vanuatu v PNG

27/08/18                            Reserve Day

28/08/18             9:30am Samoa v PNG and Vanuatu v Fiji

                           1:30pm Samoa v Vanuatu and PNG v Fiji

29/08/18                            Reserve Morning

                           1:30pm  PNG v Vanuatu   and Samoa v Fiji

30/08/18                            Reserve Day

©Cricket World 2018