< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC World Test Championship Final 2021: Full squads, Match date, Venue & Preview: All you need to know

India's Virat Kohli during practice
India's Virat Kohli during practice
©Action Images via Reuters/John Sibley

The marquee ICC World Test Championship Final 2021 will be played between India and New Zealand from June 18 to June 22 at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

 LIVE - ICC World Test Championship Final 2021

After gruelling two years of six test series each, India and New Zealand have pipped the likes of Australia and England to make it to the maiden ICC World Test Championship Final. Not only will it establish the supremacy of one team in test cricket, the match is special by virtue of being the first of its kind event.

The last test series played between India and New Zealand was hosted by the latter as India were cleaned up 2-0, losing both matches by comprehensive margins.

New Zealand have already played one test match against England at Lord's and will be done with another one by the time the two captains walk out for the toss at Southampton on June 18. The Kiwis thus will be better prepared for the Final.

The Indian squad has also begun to train. Three days after the squad reached Southampton, the Indian players trained for the first time in batches at the Rose Bowl on Monday, June 7. The team is currently based at the Hilton which is attached to the Rose Bowl.

India have named a huge 24-member squad for the WTC final. Two players, Wridhimann Saha and KL Rahul, have been added to the Indian test squad subject to medical clearance. Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Arzan Nagwaswalla are the four standby players.


India - Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed. Shami, Mohammed. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wk; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

New Zealand - Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Tom Blundell, Doug Bracewell, Will Young, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Ajaz Patel, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra

Match dates and venue:

The Rose Bowl, Southampton

ICC World Test Championship Final 2021

1 Test Jun 18 - Jun 22

© Cricket World 20